TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Blackvue 2-Ch Dashcam Install on Model X

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Muzzman1, May 24, 2016.

  1. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hi Guys,
    Today, my installer came over and we figured out a pretty clean way to install the Blackvue dashcam on my wife's Model X. If you want his contact info PM me. He's a mobile installer in the SoCal area. It took about 5 hours, but we were doing quite a bit of exploration, so it probably won't take him that long in the future.
    I apologize that I did not document every step of the way, but I did document the key aspects that set it apart from the Model S Dashcam install.
    Biggest take away here is that we WERE able to use the existing windshield channel to run the rear camera and power wires to the dashcam. For me this was pretty huge as I like to maintain OEM look.
    We were also lucky to find constant 12V at the drivers kick panel.
    I hope this helps anyone looking to do this!

    Here's the shots I did take:

    Just figuring out how to get the housing open and how we will run the wires:
    IMG_4166.jpg


    Finally giving in and ripping the channel off the windshield
    :
    IMG_4167.jpg



    Got the housing off finally!
    IMG_4168.jpg



    Yikes.....there's no going back now!!
    IMG_4169.jpg
    Dashcam cables in the channel, and new 3M tape in place:
    IMG_4170.jpg

    Looks like they have already provisioned the housing for 2 forward looking Autopilot cameras!!
    IMG_4171.jpg
    close-up of the cables going into the channel:
    IMG_4172.jpg


    Running the cables along the A-pillar down the side of the drivers FWD, we tucked the cable along the headliner.
    IMG_4174.jpg

    Finally out the back to the existing harness to the interior of the hatch:
    IMG_4175.jpg

    Tapped into the existing constant 12V down by the drivers kick panel for power to the camera:
    IMG_4177.jpg
     
    • Informative x 15
    • Like x 6
    • Helpful x 2
    • Love x 1
  2. MikeC

    MikeC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thank you for the informative post. Will be very helpful when my wife gets hers in a couple months.
     
  3. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Thanks for the post, please provide me with the info :)
     
  4. indy360

    indy360 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    This is great. Do you have any pictures of the final install? How much did he charge if you don't mind? I live in LA and will definitely use him if you think the quality was good.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hi Guys. I've had a few requests for the installers info. Company is called Calibred number is (310) 654-0532. I paid him $375.
    I didn't take any final shots but essentially the only thing visible are the two cameras and a couple inches of wire total.
     
  6. Dazureus

    Dazureus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Michigan
    Great install pictures! I was wondering if there was enough space in the mirror channel for the camera cables. Kind of scary that you need to replace the 3M tape, but I guess that's the trade off for a stealthier install. Was it possible to tap the dome lights for the 12V power?
     
  7. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    We didn't check the dome lights, we did check the mirror/AP camera assembly, and no luck there.
    We didn't actually have to pull the headliner out at all, just the edges to get the rear camera wire tucked along to the back.
    the power came down to the drivers kick panel as you see in the last photo.
     
  8. vandacca

    vandacca Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Location:
    Hamilton
    @Muzzman1, did your installer consider/look at the wires behind the center console? The little tray above the center console can be removed to expose two wire harnesses (OBD2 + something else). Just curious if you guys considered it and dismissed it for some reason.
     
  9. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Where we tapped into power was adjacent to the obd-2. The wires we used were much more accessible. The obd was tucked up into the xm and UHFS amp. (Same as model S)
    So we went to easy access.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
  10. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I didn't get the premium package so no amp or XM, will it still work?
     
  11. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yeah. I'm sure the wires we tapped in that last photo exist on all cars.
    They were heavy gauge wires and I suspect they are not A/V related.
     
  12. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Glad you didn't need to do anything with the headliner. I think my wife might be OK with me running next to the channel vs pulling the whole thing down. We'll see!

    Can you add some finished pics?
     
  13. systemcrashed

    systemcrashed Please Reboot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    USA
    Did you actually see an ODB2 plug? I was under the impression model X only had a tesla data connection plug, and that we would need to fabricate a cable to tap to that.
     
  14. Muzzman1

    Muzzman1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Oh yes. I absolutely did. It's right above the dead pedal. Can't miss it.
     
    • Like x 1
  15. systemcrashed

    systemcrashed Please Reboot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    USA
    This is great, now pick up one of these and try out the blackvue cloud service!
    image.jpeg
     
  16. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I would also like to know how that works but I will probably use the free solution with the Netgear mingle from freedmpop that provides 500MB for free monthly
     
  17. systemcrashed

    systemcrashed Please Reboot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    USA
    Not sure about what video compression method is used, but you will go through 500MB in a few days.
     
    • Informative x 1
  18. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #18 K-MTG, May 29, 2016
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
    It doesn't constantly upload to the cloud, the cloud feature simply allows you to view the footage directly from the camera if an incident were to occur such as if the dash cam detects impact and you receive the push notification. I have been doing that currently for months without an issue
     
  19. systemcrashed

    systemcrashed Please Reboot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    USA
    Does the camera upload to the cloud when motion is detected? I hoped that was a feature... Mine is sitting on my desk waiting for my car, maybe I can hook it to a 12volt PSU and test it out.
     
  20. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    No, however you can set it up so you receive a push notification if motion is detected so you can view the footage live from your phone that streams directly from an SD card. Kind of like having an IP camera oppose to something like a Dropcam.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page