TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

BlackVue CLOUD and the DR900S

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by LMichel, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. LMichel

    LMichel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    First, I think we need a Forum Category for Aftermarket Accessories..

    Does anyone have the DR900 BlackVue Cloud working? I assume it's the same for the 750 and back, etc.. But the 900 is my first BlackVue purchase, and likely my last - if there's no simple answer to my question..

    I created a BV cloud account and enabled the blackvue cloud on the device. I chose my router's SSID in the firmware options and left the password blank - there is no security on that router and it is internet connected. My MS connects to it in the garage all the time.

    After rebooting, I use my phone with the latest BlackVue Cloud Viewer App installed and it cannot connect. I never get a list of the videos sitting on the BV. Even though I have registered the camera, it never shows as available (blue).

    Is there something else the BV instructions should be telling me? Do I need some type of port forwarding? I saw some post about setting a DNS entry in my router for 8.8.8.8 - that sounds pretty ridiculous, but I tried it anyway - No joy.

    The other thing I noticed is that the 900 will eventually (5 min?) revert back to its original hotspot for direct WiFi connection from a phone. It gives me the impression that it *is* connecting, but then timing out and reverting back to its built in hotspot for communicating to the phone directly via WiFi.

    What gives!?
     
  2. kaczmarczyk

    kaczmarczyk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So I just installed my 900 yesterday and I got the Blackvue Cloud working with no issues. I assume you manually turned on the wifi on the camera, correct? You need to push the wifi button on the camera.

    I had mine connected to my home network; however, I am questioning how valuable this really is. If you don't have a constant hot spot for the cloud to be connected to what value are you getting by using it only at your home and is it worth any potential battery usage (if at all?) to have it running only at home. I'm trying to decide this myself.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  3. steinermeister

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Mine works with no issues as well. May be defective? Get a new one and compare.
     
  4. smilepak

    smilepak Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    What are you using as an internet connectivity for this?
     
  5. David.85D

    David.85D Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Maryland
    Mine also setup easily and works fine. It connects to the networks in order (you can enter 3). First is my home WiFi (AirPort Extreme). Second is a mobile hotspot I leave in the car (Verizon MiFi) that charges from one of the center console USB plugs.
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. BigD0g

    BigD0g Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Both mine work perfectly as well as my nightly offload scripts from the cameras
     
    • Helpful x 1
  7. hulk2k17

    hulk2k17 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    DFW Area
    SSID needs to be broadcasting on your router for the BV camera to connect to it. The MS can connect to networks where the SSID is not being broadcast. This was my situation at least.
     
  8. Ledge

    Ledge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    How far away is your router from where the car parks? I was having the exact same issue you're describing trying to get the cloud portion working. The camera would connect for a few minutes/seconds, but would then disconnect. After a bunch of trial, error, and frustration I figured out that the BlackVue camera does not like low-strength wifi signals. It seems very quick to disconnect from networks it thinks are weak.

    I bought a WiFi repeater and put it inside the house on the garage wall and have had no issues since, with solid connections for hours at a time.
     
  9. LMichel

    LMichel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Hmmm.. Well I am broadcasting the SSID and the MS is about 4 feet from the repeater, which is plugged into the wall at counter top level.
    I did think of one thing that maybe no one else is doing and I am: I'm running no security on the WiFi. It's an open connection. Adding a pwd on that connection would be a PITA because of all the other devices that would suddenly stop working. But I would do it if it solves the issue. Before I go that far, is anyone else connecting to an open WiFi with their BV? I suppose you may be sensitive about declaring that here :) Maybe you could PM me instead?

    Thanks!
     
  10. David.85D

    David.85D Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Maryland
    Dude!!!! Secure your WiFi!!!

    My father in law left his open, right until I showed him all his neighbors were freeloading off the connection, including one with likely illegal interest in “art”...
     
  11. kaczmarczyk

    kaczmarczyk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #11 kaczmarczyk, Jun 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
    I'm still paying with my Blackvue. I can access and play the files by connecting with the camera's wifi and through my android phone fine. On my Mac, using the Blackvue Viewer App, I can see the files and play them but the video is completely blacked out/not showing. It doesn't matter if use the Blackvue cloud or pull the SD card and connect that to my Mac directly...the Mac Viewer App will not show the video. Anyone have any suggestions???

    Edit: I have tried reformatting the SD card. Also, I can load a file from the Mac Viewer App into the cloud and access that file from my phone app but again I am unable to play it on through the Mac Viewer App.
     
  12. LMichel

    LMichel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Dude, that WiFi is a disposable one. There is a DMZ and a firewall before that SSID could pass through a port forwarded tunnel to the main WiFi.
    I live in the middle of 275 Acres. I have no neighbors!
     
  13. LMichel

    LMichel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Well, after about 24hrs and no one indicating that they are connected with an open WiFi, I decided to enable WPA on my 'public' network.
    The nice lady inside my 900 said something she never said before... "Blackvue Cloud Connected"
    A bunch of quick tests on my laptop and iPhone apps all worked just fine.
    I disabled security. The camera couldn't/wouldn't connect.
    Re-enabled Security. "Blackvue Cloud Connected".

    Issue Resolved.
    Your BV900 needs WiFi security enabled in order to connect to the cloud service!
     
    • Like x 1
  14. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    LMichel, LOL, Thanks. Best laugh this week. "nice lady inside my 900..." Had not thought of it that way.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC