TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Blackvue (mis)understanding

Discussion in 'Model S' started by GreenT, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. GreenT

    GreenT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    Here
    I just installed (or tried to) a Blackvue DR650S. (It's laying loose in the car.)

    Don't seem to understand it.

    I though it would do this:

    Work just like a Nest cam, record to SD when you drive ... then when you get home to the garage and it recognizes its home wifi network, attach to that and transfer video from SD (if you want to) to the cloud, to your account.

    Instead what it seems to do is turn wifi off and on when it feels like it, (can't figure out then) and you have to manually log into its wifi hub everytime, provided wifi is enabled on it AND you're close enough.

    So I go to call tech support and there is none unless you want to call ... where is it .. somewhere in the orient. Like WTH?

    So unless someone can extoll its virtues in the next day it's going back.

    Am I missing something?
     
    • Disagree x 1
  2. Lukez

    Lukez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Ontario
  3. GreenT

    GreenT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    Here
    Sorry, what was your point? Already seen that page and several others but how does it help answer my question?
     
  4. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,317
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I don't have one, but nothing on the page seems to indicate it can do what you ask. It says what happens if you have always-on access, and says you can manually copy things to the cloud using the app, but doesn't say it'll store up footage and upload it automatically once you arrive at home.
     
  5. Lukez

    Lukez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Ontario
    Rest of my response didnt post for some reason....

    If you set up the cloud setting, when you get into the access point range (make sure you have good bars where you park) it will connect to the wifi. When it's connected, you can access the cameras live from anywhere you are from your phone. You can view the live video or download the videos you want to the cloud. It will not auto download new videos every time, because that's just a *sugar* ton of space.
     
  6. Joelc

    Joelc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    FAQ is your friend

    Can the recordings be automatically uploaded on BlackVue Cloud?

    Even if you use the feature, you are limited to the amount of recording time you can upload unless you purchase more time 'slots'. Even the Live View feautre is limited unless you purchase more viewing time.

    I personally rarely use the cloud features. If i need to view anything, I just pull the SD card and play it on my desktop via the Blackview Viewer app.
     
  7. wang5150

    wang5150 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I do wish, however, that if it sensed an EVENT trigger in parking mode or driving mode, that it would try to upload the incident video to the cloud.

    Currently, I have a mobile hotspot to only notify of incidents. This way, I can at least have a date/time stamp of the incident and then review the video around that time (especially in parking mode).
     
  8. bishoppeak

    bishoppeak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    It holds 3 days worth of video that you can access with your smartphone via the camera's wifi. Once it's on your phone, you can send it wherever you like or view it on the phone. What else do you want?
     
  9. GreenT

    GreenT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    Here
    #9 GreenT, Mar 28, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
    Good question. What else do I want?

    - Right now I cannot even reliably gain access to its wifi features as it seems to switch its WIFI off.
    - and phone based tech support in the USA would be nice? Is that too much to ask for?
    - so assume this evening I am parked near a restaurant for dinner. I should be able to access the cars cameras? Using cell? Wifi?
    - I would expect it to auto-connect to the home wifi?
     
  10. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    What cell or wifi do you think the camera would be communicating with while you're in a restaurant?
     
    • Like x 1
  11. MasterT

    MasterT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    North Miami Beach, FL
    I got the answer for you: instead of "expecting", RTFM
     
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  12. GreenT

    GreenT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    Here
    Thank you for being so RUDE. End of conversation.
     
  13. sunkat

    sunkat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Bonita Springs, FL
    #13 sunkat, Mar 29, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2017
    I recently had a blackvue installed. I agree it is somewhat confusing at first, and the instructions aren't as helpful as they could be.
    If you search youtube and this forum, there are several step by step 'how to's' that make it easy.

    One bug is that if you are connected to the device on your phone via wifi, then the phone won't connect to the internet via cellular data because blackvue makes the phone think it's using the blackvue wifi to connect to the internet. As an app reviewer said, GoPro figured this out and Blackvue needs to do the same.

    The device needs a wifi hotspot to connect to cloud and the settings aren't intuitive. Using the phone app, connect to blackvue via wifi, then go to firmware settings and you can enter log in credentials for up to 3 wifi hotspots (home, work, etc), change time zone, and adjust other settings.
     

Share This Page