TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Blackvue won't power on

Discussion in 'Model X' started by martinicus, Apr 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. martinicus

    martinicus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    North NJ
    So I just got my X back from a certified bodyshop, to replace the spoiler that had damage at delivery, and my new Blackvue 650S that I just had professionally installed won't power on. I had unplugged the power plug before dropping it off for service, and plugged it back it when I got it back, it was working fine before. I just stuck a little wire into the power plug and measured it with my multimeter, it reads 14V so power seems fine. It just won't turn on or do anything, even after being plugged in all day. Tried taking out the card, tried holding down the format button for 20 seconds. Tried jiggling the power cord.

    Has this happened to anyone else with their 650S? Any tricks? Has anyone dealt with blackvue customer service? I'm definitely not ripping out all the cords that I just had installed, I can send in the unit itself but I'd imagine I won't be getting a new one back for several weeks? Very frustrating.
     
  2. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,863
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Perhaps the body shop tried plugging the cables back in incorrectly?? The pins are very delicate. Try contacting BlackVue CS
     
  3. dmd2005

    dmd2005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC, Canada
    Make sure the pin at the end of the wire didn't break off. I had to replace the wire for the rear camera because the pin broke off when plugging it back in and not fully being aligned.
     
  4. martinicus

    martinicus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    North NJ
    Examining the memory card that was in it, it actually looks like it died two days earlier, I dropped the car at the body shop on Monday morning and the last recording was on the Friday before. There was definitely alot of driving happening on Saturday and Sunday, and not a single recording or log file. Looks like it's simply a dead dashcam. I had just gotten a new 128 GB Lexar card from Amazon, hope that didn't have anything to do with it. Haven't heard back from blackvue customer support yet, fingers crossed they come through quickly.
     
  5. Nerdy_Engineer

    Nerdy_Engineer Brett - The Nerdy Engineer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Colorado
    Was the card full? At first my Blackvue wouldn't record over the old footage once the card was full. I was able to reformat it using the Blackvue software to get it working correctly. However. That wouldn't explain the issue with it not powering on.

    Another thing to check is the fuse inside the cigarette plug head on the Blackvue power cable. You can try replacing the fuse to see if that fixes your issue.
     
  6. martinicus

    martinicus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    North NJ
    It's still out today. Haven't heard back from Blackvue. Wonder if it's an issue with the female power outlet in the unit.
    No the card was mostly empty, only had it running a few days. I metered the male plug and it shows 14V so I don't think power is an issue. Examined the cam and don't see any way to open it, would probably void the warranty anyways. Guess I'll be sending it in.
     
  7. sgmorton

    sgmorton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Baytown,Tx
    Any luck... Mine having exact same symptoms. Has power at the wire but won't power up. Stopped a few days ago apparently.
     
  8. martinicus

    martinicus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    North NJ
    Nope, just a waiting game trying to get it replaced. I bought it new from Massdrop, but since they don't carry inventory they weren't sure what to do. Eventually BlackVue customer support told me to ship it to ProDashcam for RMA service (since Blackvue is only in Korea). They have had it for over a week and I haven't heard anything yet.. one of the downsides of ordering from massdrop instead of B&H...
     
  9. sgmorton

    sgmorton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Baytown,Tx
    So now mine is powering up but sometimes as soon as I get in the car it says powering down. Weird! I need to contact my installer.
     
  10. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Sounds like a loose connection to power.
     
  11. SMAlset

    SMAlset Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #11 SMAlset, May 9, 2017
    Last edited: May 9, 2017

    Sorry you are still without a working camera. We are using the same model, 2-channel. Be curious to learn if a replacement was necessary for you, and if so, what they diagnosed as the reason. I have heard problems with the connectors being broken while trying to unplug/replug the unit due to service visits where they didn't want it on.

    Is there any chance your camera unit was installed with the plastic film still left on it? Thanks to reading a post here on TMC, we luckily came across a post about someone's unit that had been working fine for a few weeks after install but suddenly stopped -- in the end he assumed due to overheating. His installer had left the clear plastic film on the cameras, and when we checked our 2-channel unit so did our installer! Different installer and in different parts of the country. Believe another owner checked his and found he had installed it himself with the film on. Due to the location of the cameras in our car we never really noticed through the glass. The original poster mentioned that the unit has vents and the plastic covers those. We never took ours out of the box to notice the film, just handed the package to them. Needless to say we took the film off immediately, and fortunately the week the covers were on it was fairly cool outside so we think we were spared the same fate. Spoke to our installer to alert him to this and he said they leave it on so they don't get fingerprints on the cameras while installing....glad we've been reading this forum LOL. So just a word of caution for any newbies getting theirs installed and reading this thread.

    Yeah, the downsides that can come from whom you order from can end up giving you more grief if you run into problems. We bought our 650S recently from B&H and our Blackvue 128 card from TheDashCamStore because both are local (well US and with stores) and can provide support or replacement. Read too many posts from people having issues with their dash cams and cards in general that we wanted the extra assurance of easy repair or replace. Heck with the labor for install and the cost of the camera it is a decent investment.
     

Share This Page