TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Blank screen when in reverse.

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by 1windy, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. 1windy

    1windy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    suffolk
    When split screen is in use and the camera is on the top while backing out of the garage the top is blank. I think it happens because the homelink drops down to give acces to shutting the garage door. If I flip the screen the camera activates on the bottom but the homelink disappears and I have to press the homelink to drop down in order to close the garage.
    Is this a normal quirk in the system or should it be checked out? I have to remember to have the screen flipped when I park the night before but I keep forgetting as I prefer to drive with the camera on the top.

    Thanks
    Rich
     
  2. alexucf

    alexucf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Satellite Beach, Florida
    I didn't have it with 5.9 and it started showing up for me in 5.12. I download 6.0 last night but haven't had a chance to test it.

    Really pissed me off though. I 'love-bumped' our other car in the driveway because of it and had to bust out the touch up paint.
     
  3. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    982
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I'll have to check mine (doing an update right now), but in the past if the camera was in the top pane, it would slide that pane down when HomeLink popped up to keep this from happening.
     
  4. GaryREM

    GaryREM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    It all works fine if you don't have the camera selected and just let it automatically turn on when you put the car in reverse.

    Never understood driving with the camera selected...
     
  5. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,733
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    I almost always drive with the camera up (except when it's raining). Due to the fisheye lens, you get a great 160° panorama of the back of the car, including blind spots.
     
  6. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    982
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I was mistaken.. it does black out if the camera is already up. I just tap the screen to get rid of the HomeLink until I'm done backing out.

    Yep.. same here. On 100% of the time in the top pane.
     
  7. tgp1019

    tgp1019 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I agree with you 100%. My car had no issue with backup camera when it was FW version 5.9 , it did started with 5.12FW version. I am on FW 6.0, it still blacks out the backup camera window. I did mentioned to the SC, was advised to tap on window or run camera window on bottom portion of the main screen.
     
  8. rainman50

    rainman50 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Holland, Michigan
    I have the same thing. Homelink garage doors pop up when leaving the garage. But the garage door is already opened and when I go in reverse the rear camera does not come up unless I touch the blank screen (upper part for camera). I think the backup camera when in reverse should override the homelink display buttons. I'll have to try it but maybe if I have the camera set for the bottom part of the screen that it might come up when in reverse. I'll try that today. I still like the camera to be on the top portion of the screen so I don't need to look down so far when viewing the camera.

    .
     
  9. franknesss

    franknesss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    My car behaves the same. Like a few other members here, I drive with the backup cam on top. It is a bit annoying when backing into our garage and the screen goes blank due to the Homelink system. We have a Gate and a 2 Garage links, so the drop down covers quite a bit.

     

Share This Page