Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Brake Noise in 2013 TESLA S

DarrellPryor

Dec 14, 2015
Canada
Hi guys! I have pre-owned 2013 Tesla S. I have been using it for the last 7 months. Everything has been fine till last 3 days. There is some sort of noise while braking. I am not able to identify the source of noise. I have given it at Service Plus Car Care Centre in Etobicoke. They are gonna get my brakes checked they told me. Has anyone had this issue before? :|

jdw

Supporting Member
Jun 1, 2015
Vancouver
If it is a grinding noise at low speeds it is likely just oxidation on the rotors and a couple of hard stops will clean it up. You don't tend to use the brakes a lot with a Tesla and it can build up in rainy/snowy weather. Other than that, best to have Tesla check out brake wear and function.

Last edited:

TEUNTSLA

Oct 16, 2015
Airdrie, AB
i have a 2013 as well, what JDW said, brake a few times and it will be gone. given the time of year salt and muck will start to buildup on the breakes.

Jun 28, 2015
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
When I had the annual service performed on my 2013 P85 in Montreal, the replaced all the brakes. They said that in Canada, it was a recall that had not yet been done to my car. Check to see if the recall was done to your car. A complete new set (for free) may solve the issue.

SmartElectric

Jul 9, 2014
Toronto,Canada
When I had the annual service performed on my 2013 P85 in Montreal, the replaced all the brakes. They said that in Canada, it was a recall that had not yet been done to my car. Check to see if the recall was done to your car. A complete new set (for free) may solve the issue.

Same here, we bought our S 85 via CPO program and Tesla replaced the brakes as part of the reconditioning. Amazing service!

Doug_G

Lead Moderator
Apr 2, 2010
Ottawa, Canada