TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Bug: FLAC metadata not showing up in Folder view

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Andrew, May 12, 2013.

  1. Andrew

    Andrew Model S #6151

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    I've started ripping my CDs to FLAC, thanks to the great conversations at TMC about FLAC and better audio quality (thanks, all!). However, I had been tearing my hair out trying to figure out why the metadata (artist, album, track number) wasn't showing up on either screen. Both Foobar2000 and Exact Audio Copy seemed to be tagging the tracks properly.

    We're on v4.4 (1.3.11). I have no idea if this was a problem for earlier versions.

    Turns out the issue is only when browsing by Folder: It shows the folder and filename fine, but doesn't display any metadata (nor does it show the album artwork). However, when browsing by artist, album, etc., it works great.

    I'll email ownership to be sure they're aware of it, but wanted to mention it here in case anyone else has also been going in circles by this little bug.
     
  2. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Yep, this has been a problem since the beginning.
     
  3. Andrew

    Andrew Model S #6151

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    Ah, ok, thanks Todd. I searched the forums and sifted through pages of discussions on audio tracks and FLAC and ripping, but didn't come up with anything about this... :)
     
  4. vcor

    vcor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    California
    I just checked and the few mp3s I have seem to be identical under folder view as do all my flac files (none show album art in the browse mode), so I don't think it's anything to do with the format, but just the folder view in general.
     
  5. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,766
    Location:
    Texas
    Some do and some don't (show the artwork) but I don't find it any different in browse mode than I do in any other mode. Of course, often the artwork it does show isn't correct, and some tracks don't show at all. Sometimes moving the files around on the thumb drive helps and sometimes it doesn't.
     
  6. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Basically, the media app needs work. i'm sure they're aware. I bet when 5.0 comes it'll be completely revamped and far more functional.
     
  7. tomas

    tomas Traded in 9 rep bars for M3, used to be somebody!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Chicago/Montecito
  8. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    Nice job Tomas. I hope the Developers get word of that and fix the Media App.
     
  9. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,766
    Location:
    Texas
    Oh, they know about it. But the problem as described is different than the problem I'm experiencing, so I've put in a case for what I'm seeing as well.
     

Share This Page