Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Builder installing 220 line to charge Tesla

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have paid for installation of a 220 line as my new home is under construction. I have no electrical knowledge but have the following questions for peace of mind.

My existing house has a 220 line in the garage with 50amp breakers and I use the mobile connector for my M3 which works great.

I was informed the builder will run a 220 line from the breaker box in the garage to a 220 outlet short distance is all I need. Whatever "plug" they install may not fit the Tesla connector and they only install 20amp breakers.

After closing of course I can make changes. Do you think all I have to do is install the correct 220 wall plug to accept the Tesla mobile connector and then replace the 20amp to 50amp breakers?

Hope the above makes sense.

Technically you mean 240vac.
One problem I forsee is that if they don't run large enough wires to support higher amperage than what they are doing for a 20 amp breaker then you may have to pull through heavier wires later. And of course your panel will need to be able to handle putting in a larger breaker depending on how much load is already on the panel for other things on the property.

Upvote 0
NEMA 14-50 is the standard for 240V 50A outlets which is what you have in your current house. If the builder is running a 240V line to the garage, it should be NEMA 14-50 outlet or won't be up to code (given 50A). The wiring as well has to be a certain gauge to be up to code, so if the builder is only putting in a 20A breaker, the wiring may not be up to code for 50A if they didn't do the correct gauge wire for 50A.

Upvote 0
I have paid for installation of a 220 line as my new home is under construction. I have no electrical knowledge but have the following questions for peace of mind.