Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Building a new house, being prepared

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi All,
A newbie here and have been fascinated by all the readings I have done till now on the forum.

Ordered my RWD Blue/Black Seats on the 25th of Jan .

We are building a new house in Canberra and have an appointment with the electrician to set up our house on this Sunday.

Although the delivery is a bit far but I am hoping it will coincide with us moving into our new house in May/June.

What all should I ask the electrician at the appt. I am hoping it will be a 3 Phase connection to my house and I will be applying to install Solar with battery at my place. What additional information or connections would I need to ask the electrician to install in the Garage to get a better charging experience.

I am hoping to buy a Tesla Wall charger Gen 3 when it becomes available. I am hoping if someone can help me in what all is important to be done for us to be ready as we are still in the building phase and any changes can be made at this stage instead of later.

Thanks

Ask to get a 3-phase connection to the house - it's much cheaper to get this done now rather than try to retrofit later, and it'll allow exporting up to 15kW of solar instead of 5kW.

Get a 32A 3-phase circuit terminated in either a socket or just a junction box at the garage. That'll be easy to swap over to a wall connector when it arrives (the Model 3 can only charge at 16A per phase, but a 32A circuit will allow you to add a second wall connector for a second vehicle sometime down the track).

Reactions: suku18
I agree with everything @cafz said above (3 posts up)
Also think about putting in cables or conduits (or access hatches) for your future solar and battery rather than having surface mounted later.