TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here:

Buying a used MS

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Kenriko, May 6, 2016.

1. Kenriko

Kenriko Member

May 5, 2016
    Bay Area
    I'm looking at buying a used MS and have a few questions, first I'll give a bit of background.

I'm a Software Engineer in the Bay Area as such I make a decent income. (heyoo from san mateo) Generally I buy off lease luxury cars, previously I had a G35 Coupe and currently I'm driving a Lexus IS250. I had been planning on getting a Model 3 when then came out but baby #2 is on the way and my wife threw in a wretch that the next vehicle must be 7 passenger (To accommodate carseats + mother in law) o_O. I checked the options and had resigned to the fact that I would likely be buying a MDX or Lexus GX until I noticed that used MS were down to the low 50s for 2013 MSs that are relatively low mile (15 - 30k) which seems pretty reasonable. (Woohoo 7 passenger requirement met, throw the mother in law in the back)

Timeline for purchase is about a year I'll likely start looking at the end of 2016. I would like to find a car in the 40-45k range and I'm hoping they'll come down to that price range by the time I'm ready to purchase.

So onto the questions:

1) 60kwh has enough range for my current driving habits (around 150mi/wk) is it possible to upgrade to a larger pack at some point in the future (even if it requires some, ahem software ingenuity) or is there some hardware limitation other then the battery in the 60kwh model?

2) I know the 2.0s came out in 2014 and the next refresh is here. Are there any major deal breakers in a 60kwh or 85kwh single drive from 2013ish? For example early Porsche Caymans (2006) had a nasty habit of becoming oil starved and ruining the motor.