Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

By 2030, 100% of cars will be electric & 100% of power will be from solar. True or false?

By 2030, 100% of cars will be electric & 100% of power will be from solar. True or false?

• Total voters
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Greetings,

I am a documentary filmmaker based in Portland, Maine. I do not currently own a Tesla, but am planning to buy a used Model 3 after they become available in a couple of years.

For my first post on this forum, I would like to share this 2-mintue video that I produced about the future of solar power and electric cars. It is seeking an answer to the above question.

walker.tv/blog/solar-powered-cars

What do you think? Is it true or false?

I believe it is possible that 100% of new light duty automobiles for personal transportation could be electric by 2030. However, there are too many special cases and heavier duty vehicles that are not conducive to all electric operation. In addition, it is impossible to retire all of the existing light ICE vehicles in less than 15 years. Saying 100% is like saying Never. You can do a lot of things to a 90%+ extent but getting all the way to 100% is nearly impossible.