Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

CA rebate - maxed out!

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
So I had no idea you can only get 2 rebates for the CA rebate since 2019...I got a model x and clarity, now when I try to apply for another one, it told me I am maxed out....
any idea if its too late to add my wife onto the car / loan? I just took the car on Thursday.

thanks.

This is likely better posted in the california section of TMC, since it is california specific.

If you are talking about adding someone onto the loan, you need to talk to whoever you financed that through. Saying that, I doubt just adding her name onto it will help you, since your name will still be on it, and you are the one over the limit.

Likely would have needed to be in your wifes name only, would be my guess, although I am not an expert in this.

I suggest you "report" your own post and ask the moderators to move it to the california section, where you might get more eyeballs that have more information / care about this topic.

California

Reactions: cwerdna
You can put the rebate in another name as long as they are on the registration.

I went though this with my latest Model 3.

My car has both my wife and i on the Registration. Since i wanted her on the registration, my credit union required her to be added as a name on the loan, but her credit was never checked, and the loan was not added to her credit report (So she technically didn't need to be on the loan in the eyes of CVRP.

The California rebate was applied in her name only. All they asked for in terms of ID was her California drivers license.