TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Calendar - unable to dial Conference numbers

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Heathcroft, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. Heathcroft

    Heathcroft Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    WOKING
    Hello

    I am a brand new owner of Model S (UK Based) and loving the car.

    Managed to sync the iphone calendar after a few issues (Didnt sync at first - maybe poor connection)

    Now it has synced - I am trying to dial the telephone numbers found in the meeting - and nothing happens....

    Tried both clicking on the number in the top listing - but also by going into the notes of the meeting (where our company list multiple country numbers) and selecting those.

    The manual implies not only should you be able to call numbers found in the invite but it also implies you can take the Conference ID and enter 'easily'.

    But I would settle for actually being about to call out first.

    The normal phone works - I can dial out no worries from the phone app to contacts.

    But from calendar a box appears - it says 'oubound call' or to 'open the phone app' - but nothing happens on either option.

    Anyone managed to get this to work? Would love to use this feature - and I am trying to avoid having to use an iPhone mount on the dashboard and dial direct from the phones native calendar.
     
  2. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    5,381
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    What’s different about the conference numbers, anything? Are they normal numbers or with commas and PIN codes at the end?

    If normal toll free numbers, makes no sense.
     
  3. Heathcroft

    Heathcroft Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    WOKING
    So thats the one thing I noticed - it does have a comma at the end.

    That said - its still recognising it as a number for you to ring - put it doesnt even attempt to dial out or start the call.

    If it started a call then the comma should even matter - it would treat is as a pause.

    And if it didnt even recognise it as a number I can understand the phone not starting - as you would have no number to select in first place.
     
  4. Heathcroft

    Heathcroft Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    WOKING
    Oh and they are in e164 format - so internationally recognised etc
     
  5. jrankin

    jrankin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have the same problem. I have tried several number formats in the calendar and phone book. Simple numbers or numbers with an international prefix (+) will dial out. Numbers using a pause (,) with additional conference ID / extension / PIN numbers or an end character (#) pop up in the calendar as a call but the call is not initiated on the phone.

    This is a fairly basic problem where the use of conferencing or extension additions has not been thought through. The whole dial string needs sending to the phone.

    Audi had the problem several years ago and BMW have supported it properly for a long time. The phone book has the same problem. How do we get a software change request in ?!
     
  6. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,370
    Location:
    Austin, TX

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC