Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Can Limited Regenerative Braking Be A Sign Of Anything Bad?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello and sorry if this is a dumb question as I am still pretty new to owning my Tesla and this is just one area that I have not researched in depth.

So for the last two days my car has been showing limited regenerative braking. The weather here in Maryland has not been bad, today it was around 50F when I was driving and yesterday it was 60F. I thought that because I didn’t precondition my car yesterday that may have been the reason why it was showing limited regenerative braking but even after charging last night until the morning, preconditioning my car today and driving it for about 5 miles to take my son to school and come home, it still shows that the regenerative braking is limited.

What’s even weirder to me is that this has just started happening even though there were days that I went out and it was colder (last week I remember it was like 39F) and I didn’t experience this after preconditioning my battery.

So my question is, is this normal? Can this be due to any other underlying issues? Again, sorry if my question is newbish, but this is just something that I am not very familiar with.

Reactions: Jane4
Regen is charging... and on a dual motor, max regen is around 85kW. That is significant power. There are a few reasons why the battery will not accept full power, similar to when fast charging. Battery temperature is one of those things. For supercharging at 85kW the battery would probably need to be at +100F, which your battery clearly isn't. I think regen lowers those requirements to a point and adjusts dytnamically if you use it for too long, but it's still part of the requirements.