TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Can Tesla offer AP HW upgrade to AP2 on AP1 cars ?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by nishT, Dec 6, 2016.

?

How much are you willing to pay to upgrade your AP1 HW to AP2 if offered ?

1. $5000

17 vote(s)
    22.7%
  2. $5000 - $10000

19 vote(s)
    25.3%
  3. $10000 - $15000

13 vote(s)
    17.3%
  4. Not interested

26 vote(s)
    34.7%
  1. nishT

nishT Member

Not sure if there already a thread about this discussion. Just wanted to see what everyone think about this option
    Do you think its possible for Tesla to upgrade current AP1 HW to AP2 for a decent price ?

2. Doubletap67

Doubletap67 Member

I'm a newb so I'll reply before someone eats you alive. Yes there are roughly one million threads on this question, and every one concludes it's not possible (as Tesla has stated unequivocally). The cost would be more than a new car, apparently.

Cheers,
    D.

• Like x 1
  3. Zaphod

Zaphod Galaxy President (former)

Well, anything is possible. Better way to state it is not advantageous or cost effective to do it (at this point in time).

OP, and yes there are numerous threads already on this.

4. rw86347

rw86347 Member

You would have to change out the computer, wiring harness, the up from camera, drill holes in the sides for camera's It would be a lot of work.

5. brkaus

brkaus Active Member

Now where is that dead horse image when you need it :)

• Funny x 2
  6. P85DBeast

P85DBeast Side tEsLa