TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Can you add multiple stops to 'trip'

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by jhs_7645, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. jhs_7645

    jhs_7645 VIN: #3305

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Camas, WA
    I haven't seen any ability to do this but is it possible to add multiple stops to a trip in the navigation screen? Sure would be nice to add several of the waypoints along the way on a trip that we know we are going to stop at.
     
  2. Benjamin Brooks

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    No.
     
  3. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    Nope.. IMHO in the top 3 feature requests that I've seen from customers on here, often referred to as waypoints.
     
  4. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,710
    Location:
    So Cal
    Also, we should be able to select alternate routes just like in Google Maps on my iphone.
     
  5. ra-san

    ra-san Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    You can, just drag and drop your car over to the desired route and the nav system will automagically update after a bit of pestering about U turns and such.

    ... No no, I mean drag and drop your actual car. Oh you wanted to do this on the screen itself? What do you think we live in, 1999?

    :confused:

    More seriously, yeah. The nav has had some nice changes, but still could use some basic work (similar to the music app). Honestly, I'm frustrated by mapping/routing tech in general from Google, Apple and others. Seems we get nice new features, but lose basic features and functionality too as we go.
     
  6. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Related to the original question... can you program a return trip - i.e., a destination that may not have charging facilities, then back home, to see if you'll make it?
     
  7. Puff

    Puff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    round trip works from current location. in your example you would have to be @home otherwise it's wherever you may be at the time.
     
  8. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Well that's good... in theory, it's a trip with two waypoints. And is the sort of trip I'll likely be doing 90% of the time. Thanks!
     
  9. GuyHall

    GuyHall Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    OK, how do you do the round trip from home? Is it in the update notes somewhere that I missed?
     
  10. Puff

    Puff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    its not from home. its from current location. so if home=current location then youre good to go.

    interesting thing happened today. i had about 40% and wanted to see that round trip prediction from san diego to los angeles and back. it didnt give me an option for the round trip. im guessing it was because there wasnt enough juice to get me there without charging.
     

Share This Page