TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Can't get Auto Lane change to work

Discussion in 'Model S' started by viper2ko, Oct 12, 2017 at 4:50 PM.

Tags:
  1. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    I just took delivery of my MS 75D today. Autopilot showed up about 40 miles into the trip and it worked great. But I could not get auto lane change to work. I tried on several different highways and roads. It's enabled on in my settings. Is this something that I'll need to check with the SC about?
     
  2. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,543
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    How are you testing it? Running autopilot (TACC and auto steer) and holding down the turn signal should trigger a lane change to the next lane automatically. Wait until you are in the next lane to release it and it should lock on to that new lane.

    Which part isn’t working?
     
  3. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    I put the signal on to indicate i want to change lanes. But the car goes nowhere
     
  4. rinconryder

    rinconryder Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    I have been having a similar issue. Works sometimes, not others.
     
  5. croman

    croman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,506
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Needs calibration beyond what AP needs to start working. Same with the autoparks. If you just took delivery maybe 2.5 doesn't do this yet at all. Keep driving.
     
  6. jjh1234

    jjh1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Maybe a dumb question, but are you sure you turned it on in the settings? I've noticed it tends to default to off sometimes, especially when fooling with different driver profiles.
     
  7. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,543
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Mine does. It has about 200 total, but I believe it did it shortly after AP started working at 30 miles. It could definitely need more miles if you only have a little more than the 50. Definitely keep driving and keep testing!
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    I have about 180 miles on the car and it is definitely set to on
     
  9. kort677

    kort677 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4,529
    Location:
    florida.
    op needs to hold the signal stalk down until the lane change begins, I suspect he isn't holding it down long enough. I have ap1 so I really don't know exactly how ap2 works.
     
  10. Dax279

    Dax279 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Calgary
    My settings sometimes change (not sure why) and I notice that I need to go back in and reset sometimes.
     
  11. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    I've checked numerous times, even the DS set it to on during my orientation.
     
  12. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,102
    It only works on limited access highways from what I can tell.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  13. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,543
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    That’s a good point. I tried it on a ‘normal road’ and it ignored me, but on a divided highway, it always worked.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. kort677

    kort677 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4,529
    Location:
    florida.
    not for me, if I'm on a multi lane road that is not a limited access road I can use the lane changing feature, I'm on AP 1
     
  15. Ghosty

    Ghosty Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Same here - It worked fine for a couple of days. Since then, I've tried activated to no avail. I'll play around with it on different roads - see what happens.
     
  16. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    US
    FWIW, it only works if it recognizes (and displays on the screen) the adjacent highway lanes.

    If you only see the car in its lane on your IC, then the car will not auto change lanes.

    You do need to be traveling on highways, and above a certain speed (40mph I believe) for this to work.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. wbeck

    wbeck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Delray Beach
    Mine also only works on highways. I did have an ap1 loaner and it worked regardless of road...
     
  18. Tommy Bahama

    Tommy Bahama Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK USA
    Double check to make sure it is on for each profile. Every time I created a new driver profile it defaulted auto lane change within that profile to off.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,543
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    It may show the adjacent lane(s), but it won’t show cars in the next lane until you turn on the turn signal for the lane change. That’s when it uses the side cameras (or at least displays what it sees in them, for AP2.0). Erik and David did a video of that behavior recently.
     
  20. redy

    redy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    That's the behavior I've seen. Works well on the major highway I take but not so in the smaller highway. I was under the impression it works on any highway but I guess not.
     

Share This Page