TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Can't get Virgin Radio on TuneIn radio in Montreal

Discussion in 'Canada' started by zax123, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Hi guys,

    I'm addressing a very small group of members I know... but I was wondering if anyone else was able to get Virgin Radio (95.9) on TuneIn in their cars. I get what looks like every other radio station but that one. I never listen to the radio anymore, but other passengers want to sometimes and TuneIn is better quality that straight FM.

    Anyway, just wondering if I'm the only one that can't see 95.9 in Montreal...

    Thanks!

    Rob
     
  2. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I'm surprised by the number of smaller market stations that I can find on TuneIn, but I have noticed that there are a few stations missing (not many). Perhaps Virgin is one of them. 99.9 is Virgin in Toronto, and it can be found on TuneIn.

    EDIT: Didn't mean to suggest Montreal is a "smaller" market. What I meant was in addition to the larger markets, they have some really obscure stuff on there too :smile:
     
  3. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Yeah I see tons of small stuff on there.

    Here's the funny part. When accessing tunein on the web, Virgin is there... in the car, it is not. I should have mentioned that earlier. :)
     
  4. Morristhecat

    Morristhecat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC
    I was hoping to get virgin radio 95.3 in Vancouver as well, and it isn't there either. Perhaps Sir Richard doesn't like tune in radio?
     
  5. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Morris,

    Have you checked to see if you can get it on the web version of TuneIn? That's the weird part...
     
  6. Morristhecat

    Morristhecat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC
    Oh hey, yes it is on the web version. That is weird. So why not in the S?
     
  7. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    What I did was set up a free TuneIn account, then went on-line and created a favorites list. When I logged in on the Model S, my favorites were there. What I haven't tried is adding one of these web-only stations to the favorites list and seeing if it shows up in the car. I wasn't aware that some stations were only available on the web interface!
     
  8. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Funny, I did exactly the same thing. Put Virgin in my favorites and when I got to the car, my favorites was empty and I couldn't select Virgin in the search list either... how bizarre. I'll write to TuneIn just for fun.
     
  9. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Very odd indeed. My favorites did show up in the car, but I must have picked stations that were available in both places. Just for yucks, I think I'll log in and add Virgin to my favorites and see what happens when I get in the car after work.
     
  10. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Please let me know if it shows up. That would be borked if you in TO get Montreal Virgin and I don't. :p
     
  11. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I added the Toronto and Montreal Virgin stations to my favorites, but they did not show up in the car. The others that I had saved previously were still there. I just checked on the TuneIn web site, and the Virgin stations are there in my favorites.

    There must be some licensing issue with the Tesla app vs. the regular web site.
     
  12. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    How frustrating is that eh? Well, maybe TuneIn will respond... (and fix it?)
     
  13. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    To further add to the mystery, I installed the iPhone TuneIn app and logged in there. Guess what... the Toronto and Montreal Virgin stations do show up in my favorites list there (along with my other favorites)!

    I was thinking that maybe Virgin only licensed their signals for "stationary" users (i.e. PCs using a web browser) and that it wouldn't show up on the phone either, but that is clearly not the case.

    I'm now wondering if this isn't some sort of glitch in Tesla's implementation of TuneIn on the Model S.
     
  14. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Works on Android too. What the heck? :)

    Maybe I should be writing to Tesla ownership? It's such a fringe case that noone will take it seriously...
     
  15. kitk

    kitk Model S P85 - VIN#2589

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My theory is that stations that use the AAC+v2 codec simply do not work with the Tesla software, but otherwise work in the Flash player and mobile apps. Many other stations use regular AAC or MP3 and work. I can't play SomaFM stations either and believe it is related.
     
  16. dj905

    dj905 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    I am seeing a similar thing with CBC Radio on Tune-In. 93.5 CBC Radio One from London works fine, but 99.1 CBC Radio One from Toronto doesn't show up in the car. Do they use different codecs?
     
  17. Jeeps17

    Jeeps17 Cath Jockey in a P85

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    As a work-around (hopefully it will get fixed), you could listen to those stations by using your smartphone and streaming the audio to your S via Bluetooth.
     
  18. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Hey Jeeps!

    That's definitely an option. The funny thing is, I never listen to radio anymore, I always listen to Slacker. And one day I'll start building up a FLAC library, then I'll use my USB key... hopefully Tesla will release a shuffle mode on the USB input soon. It's really my GF that uses the radio, and asking her to stream from Bluetooth on her S3 might be a stretch. :p
     
  19. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    When I look at the Options on my iPhone TuneIn app, it says I can select either a 48 kbps MP3 stream or a 40kbps AAC stream for the Virgin stations that won't work in the car.
     
  20. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    Just for fun, I wrote to ownership... who knows, maybe a future firmware upgrade will unlock those codecs...
     

Share This Page