Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Car Cover for Model 3?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've had my Model 3 less than a week. It's super hot outside and I have no garage, so the car is baking in the sun all day long and the fan is turning on and off to protect the car.

The Tesla branded car cover looks like it would be too much hassle to put on and take off every single drive. I see a Covercraft one that looks easier to use, but I think I would have to modify it to make the charge port accessible. What are you guys using as an exterior car cover to protect from the heat?

I've never used a car cover before but I also considered one. However, I heard that over time they tear/fade and eventually will trap dirt inside. There was also concern on it "no brand" car covers would mess with the battery cooling/heating.

My dad suggested a crazy idea of getting a canopy with sidewalls and putting in our driveway, which seems semi feasible. I haven't done it yet but maybe something to consider.
Example: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Shelter...Canopy-and-Frame-Not-Included-25875/202934603 (this doesn't include canopy/frame)