TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Car's electronics (touchscreen, radio, normal sounds like turn signals) going HAYWIRE

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by MileHighMotoring, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    #1 MileHighMotoring, Nov 13, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2015
    Since v7 updated, I've had crazy issues with the electronics. First I noticed one of my door handles stopped responding to touch. Then I noticed Slacker would sound like a skipping vinyl record album. Then the touchscreen and main driver displays in general started lagging really bad, not responding actions, freezing, etc to Then it spread to other sounds like the turn signals. It is solved either by me manually rebooting the screens or it'll force the reboot itself.

    It happens ... about every other day I'd guess.

    I've got an appt to bring the car in next week but I'm wondering if any others have experienced this and what the fix was so I can share any applicable info with them when I get to the Service Center.
     
  2. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    NoVa
    Did you restart the 17" and the IC?
     
  3. Electric700

    Electric700 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Florida, United States
    There are two ways to reboot, and you can try them both. One uses the top buttons, one above the left scroll wheel, and one above the right scroll wheel on the steering wheel. Hold those down for up to 30 seconds, until you see the screen reinitialize. The other method is to use the two scroll wheels to the left and right on the steering wheel. After the first screen reinitializes, afterward hold the scroll wheels down for up to 30 seconds.

    I hope this resolves your issues.
     
  4. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Guys, thanks but I mentioned that I've rebooted it manually (and it happens by itself), that's not solving anything. I've done both types of reboots.
     
  5. BertL

    BertL Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    I have not had the problem with turn signals, but after 7.0 as I've mentioned in a couple other threads, I did have my 17" become unresponsive, so I rebooted... I had one instance of Handles not responding to touch, but figured I'm a newbie and must have screwed-up, so pressed my FOB button twice and they presented. Then the Music player started acting up, including your symptom of Slacker not playing or not allowing any controls to be used.... I rebooted... Nav acted up with only partial displays in the 17" as i was sitting in my driveway, then when I shifted into reverse, the rear backup camera showing the bottom 1/4 of the visual at the top, and the rest below it -- all live -- that was odd. I had the 17" reboot itself while I was driving a few minutes later. Then strange things with receiving an incoming call from the same number after a minute or so when I'd open my door and get in the car, and when I pressed a button on 17" or IC to answer... Nothing there, and the message for the call would stay on the other display, but I found the number was actually a missed call from the day before on my iPhone6 running iOS 9.1 and there were no calls really coming through. I rebooted the IC and 17", then finally called support as some of these things kept occurring.

    Net was, deleted my phone from the MS in Bluetooth settings. Delete the pairing info from the iPhone Settinga. Reboot the iPhone. Reboot the 17" if you have not already. Re-pair the iPhone with MS. ...and as odd as it is, I've not had a single "electronics" problem in several days now. As to how all that is connected, I don't have a clue. Support was sort of shocked with this as well... They said they saw some of my symptoms just after iPhone6 came out a year ago, but not since... I think it's all very, very, odd, but since I can't recreate this, and the problem went away after disconnecting and reconnecting my phone, well, it is what it is. JUST BE SURE you do all the steps above... Apparently fully deleting the phone/MS connection on both sides and those reboots are part of the trick.

    Good Luck.
     
  6. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    In addition to BertL's advice, unplug anything from the USB ports and reboot as well. There have previously been issues when stuff plugged into the USB ports have caused the software to malfunction.
     
  7. BertL

    BertL Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    Yes, yes, yes. Forgot that, since I didn't have anything plugged in at the time -- but support did suggest that as well. Thx!
     
  8. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Thanks! I will unpair my phone, unplug every USB thing, and do both reboots and see what happens. Doing it right now. Will report back either way.
     
  9. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    OK it's been about 5 days and I haven't had a recurrence. The car goes in tomorrow for other issues but now I can take this off the list. For the official record, I did have a USB drive loaded with MP3 plugged in 24/7 to the port.
     
  10. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    I posted a day too soon. Today - still with nothing having been plugged into the USB ports - the audio went all wackadoo on Slacker a few times.
     
  11. bancroftc

    bancroftc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I has some Slacker audio issues when I got updated from v7.0...56 to ...217. It got updated at the service center when I was having my center console installed. The next morning I was getting awful static on all the internet radio. I tried rebooting once, and no change. Called service and they indicated there was a known bug with .217 and I would probably have to wait for the next update for a fix. I then tried rebooting a second time and now it's working fine again. I'm still on .217.

    What's your full firmware version?
     
  12. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Getting worse.. Today the main screen has failed to turn on at all, and while it's off regen brakes and turn signals are intermittent.

    Just now it took five minutes for the screen to turn on, which means I had no access to garage door opener, hvac, stereo, reverse camera, etc.

    My appt got rescheduled for December. I hope this doesn't continue this bad. Feels like a computer with a hard drive about to die. I'm sure they're going to context disassemble my dash to fix this, I wonder if they'd upgrade the LTE at the part cost since they're doing the labor anyway...
     
  13. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    If your 17" doesn't come back to life by Friday, I would just drive the car to the Service Center. Personally, I consider the loss of the 17" a safety issue since so many functions cannot be controlled at all without the 17". At the very least, they can give you a loaner/rental until they can service your car.

    And I only say Friday because its 5:30 where I write this and my service center is closed. For you, you might be able to still swing by before they close for the day.
     
  14. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,710
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Agreed. When my 17" screen started acting wonky while showing houses to a client, service asked me to bring it in immediately.
     
  15. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I'm not getting static, but I do get an awful lot of skipping and stuttering that I never had before v7.
     
  16. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Got my car back today - their solution was to clear my trip meters. We'll see how that holds up. I was told the computer is basically bogged down with processes causing the issues and to clear my trip meters often.

    So now I've lost all my kW/M data :( I hadn't cleared one of my meters since I got the car so I could know my lifetime power usage. Albeit only 8k miles so far so I can't see how that's killing the computer.

    I think the real issue is that they can only look at a few days of logs and I wasn't ever instructed to note the date/time of any incidents so they weren't able to even see the issues in my logs. So I feel like I've probably got more wasted days in my future as I will be bringing it back in for this again. I can't fathom that resetting a trip meter solves this problem.
     
  17. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I concur. Meanwhile, we have posters that have tens of thousands of miles on trip meters without any issue. My car itself has 10k on Trip B.
     
  18. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I have over 62,000 miles on my Trip B... no issues.
     
  19. MileHighMotoring

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Parker, CO
    Just noticed this gem in the service report:
    But they never mentioned either of these things to me. And I have no idea what "Drive note function" is.
     

Share This Page