TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Center Screen Freezes

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by hybridbear, Sep 14, 2016.

?

How often does your center 17" screen freeze?

  1. At least once per week

    5.7%
  2. 1-4 times per month

    20.0%
  3. Every couple months

    31.4%
  4. Less than once per year

    14.3%
  5. Never

    28.6%
  1. hybridbear

    hybridbear Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    How often do other owners have their 17" center screen freeze? What causes it to freeze?

    Since I took delivery of my Model S on August 15th the center screen has frozen at least once per week. It has frozen twice when touching the "not this time" button for autopark, twice when doing a pinch to zoom out of the navigation map and once while manually adjusting climate control settings. I have since stopped pressing the "not this time" button for autopark since it froze the first two times I did it so I don't know if it would continue to freeze in that situation.

    The local Tesla service center says that there is nothing wrong with the car and that freezing is normal. This seems excessive to me...

    Each time I have had to hold the two steering wheel scroll wheel buttons to reboot the screen.
     
  2. Sugacookie

    Sugacookie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Ive only had my Vehicle for 14 days but Ive had zero screen issues.
     
  3. ArtInCT

    ArtInCT Always Learning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Southern Connecticut
    I have had my media play lock up or freeze when I go into an area with no LTE or WiFi.... it will eventually come back to life when I enter an area with LTE , other than that, no freezing here.
     
  4. mblakele

    mblakele radial cross member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I've found websites that repeatably freeze the MCU. After a while it reboots.
     
  5. royewest

    royewest Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Berkeley
    I had two freezes last week when stopped at a light and tried to browse to electrek.co -- enjoyed the irony.
     
  6. Moonwick

    Moonwick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The service center is feeding you a line; something is definitely not right with your MCU. I've had perhaps 10 occasions over the year and a half I've had my car where I've needed to reboot the MCU, and they've all been due to features (almost always problems with internet radio) misbehaving; I can't think of a single time where I needed to do it because of a complete freeze.

    Definitely press the matter with them; what you're experiencing is not normal, and it's pretty absurd that they would claim that it is.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  7. SoxFan2004

    SoxFan2004 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    New York
    I get screen freezes or crashes a couple of times a month. It is excessive. All software has bugs but I've never used anything that freezes this frequently. I got one last night and this morning there's a software update waiting... perhaps that will fix things?
     
  8. mikeash

    mikeash Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,107
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA, USA
    I just had a freeze today. I was at a public charger and came back to the car to find that the instrument cluster showed 208 miles of range, while the center screen showed only 191. I tried to fiddle with it and it was completely unresponsive. Reboot cleared it right up, of course.

    Once a week is way too often, though. I'm not sure if I've ever seen a complete freeze before today. I have seen extremely bad performance that I fixed with a reboot, and a couple of times I've seen it spontaneously reboot on its own, but even those are only once every month or two.
     
  9. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Used to happen to me about once a month, but I haven't had the issue for a few months.

    Of course it tended to follow murphy's law when it would happen when I wouldn't want it to. I haven't really had any of those situations lately so it's likely just waiting for me to have one.
     
  10. SJFlorida

    SJFlorida New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Fl
    I took delivery 1 week ago. Mine freezes on the internet radio. Actually happened the first time on the way home from taking delivery! I called and they instructed me to reboot the screen. It has now happened 10 times in just the first week. Sometimes I reboot and it fixes it. Sometimes that doesn't work. When its off for a few hours, seems to start up ok.The "concierge" girl (what a laugh, such poor customer service) sends me emails about the service dept checking the logs, but then never does and nothing happens. Also tells me "probably the update will fix this". Such utter nonsense. So my car has glitches that the screen freezes - so wait a few weeks, maybe it will get fixed.
    I have never seen a high end luxury car delivered with such an obvious defect. And the service dept just gives you a run around.
    I really hope Tesla responds. I am just shocked that this is how they treat their customers. I bought a P90D, so you can imagine i paid more than I paid for my Porsche Panamera. This is just shamefull.
     
  11. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    I've had my classic P85 since early 2013 - and the software quality continues to be a source of frustration.

    As someone who has been responsible for major software projects (including software more complex than the Tesla onboard software), it's disappointing to see how Tesla continues to underperform on both functionality and quality.

    It would not have been acceptable for us to ship any software with the functionality, usability and quality issues we've seen with our Model S. I'm not aware of any other major company that would accept this in released software.

    It was understandable the Tesla onboard software would be limited and have issues when the Model S was first put into production 4 years ago. With 7.0 and 7.1, we are still missing expected functionality (playlists, waypoints, ...) and we've had periods when the center console had to be rebooted periodically.

    Hopefully 8.0 will fix this...

    If it doesn't, the clock is ticking... If the Bolt has more functional onboard software (Apple CarPlay, Android Auto, better navigation software, ...) and it doesn't suffer from quality and usability issues, Tesla might start seeing Model 3 reservation cancellations.

    And, because there's a response time for implementing software improvements, if Tesla waits until it starts impacting their sales, it may take them too long to make the needed improvements to their software and development process.
     
    • Like x 1
  12. habanero69

    habanero69 I Dont Need Cialis. I Drive an EV.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    FLorida
    They need what is commonly called in the software development world, a QA department. Not the code writers reviewing their own work. If there was a QA process in releasing the software (at least better than what is currently done) there is no way this many issues would still be occurring. I work on software, I know...
     
  13. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Canada
    This does sound like a bad piece of hardware... or early failure that you're enduring.

    A center computer replacement is a pretty standard procedure that that takes about an hour to do and it's one big part.

    Probably before doing that, Tesla would want to put the latest software on the car to see if that process cleans it up. Or maybe you'll just be lucky in the next few days to get 8 and find that does clear it up.
     
  14. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Canada
    ..DevOps: if you can build it, it can be deployed!

    Iteration 2 will catch what wasn't right the first time.

    Iteration N will catch what wasn't right in N-1 or earlier.

    Wait for N, everything will be fine! The masses (us) will continue to be the beta testers of something that is always in motion.

    versus

    QA: Nice try. This isn't hitting prime time. So sorry you'll miss the schedule for AP 2, explain to Elon yourself why your code doesn't work.
     
  15. AvengerBB

    AvengerBB Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    For what it's worth, I was having the lock up/reboot issue a least once a week for a bit on 7.1. Now on 8 things seem much smoother although a smaller sample size obviously. Will be interesting to see if this changes for others as well.
     
  16. habanero69

    habanero69 I Dont Need Cialis. I Drive an EV.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    FLorida
    Pretty much true as we sadly know... :oops:
     
  17. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    After having 8.0 installed for only a few hours, already encountered the first auto-reboot, while the car was in motion.
     
  18. hybridbear

    hybridbear Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Since I installed the latest fixes in version 7.1 (2.36.31) I have not had the screen freeze. Perhaps this was one of the "minor bug fixes" referenced in the release notes.
     
  19. Mango

    Mango Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Just got 8.0 on 9/25 for my 2016 S90D. Center screen has randomly reboot 3 times while driving.
    Anyone else have this issue?
     
  20. felipey

    felipey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Yes. On my 30 minute commute to work, it restarted 7 times.
     

Share This Page