TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Center Screen Night Mode in daytime

Discussion in 'Model S' started by rogbmw, May 3, 2013.

  1. rogbmw

    rogbmw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Can the center screen be switched to the dark Night Mode so it stays on during the daytimg? I tried changing the settings to night, but it is automatically switching back to the bright daylight screen. I have the black interior, and think it would look better and be easier on the eyes.
     
  2. ToddRLockwood

    ToddRLockwood Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,263
    Location:
    Burlington, Vermont
    I totally agree. I believe it defaults back to Auto mode when you turn the car off. Maybe they could change that!
     
  3. Neech

    Neech Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Slightly OT but I was wondering if it is normal for it to take 20+ minutes for the screen to switch between night and day mode?
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    Mine switches quickly -second or two. The only bug I've seen is that the Nav screen doesn't switch back to day unless you go to some other screen and back. Did you try rebooting the screen? that fixes a lot of problems like that.
     
  5. jomo25

    jomo25 P4398

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,938
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Wow yours takes 20? It shouldnt take more than 18. Tops.
     
  6. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Definitely talk to service and/or ownership about this. It's not normal.
     
  7. jomo25

    jomo25 P4398

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,938
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    OK, being serious, its not how it should behave. Now depending on what parts you are talking about, it may be how it normally behaves (though it needs to be fixed).

    For example, I park in an underground garage. So each time I start the car when in the garage, it's dark, so the whole screen starts in night mode. I have the map as my bottom half app. Accordingly, it has the night version of the maps. I keep the map zoomed out quite a bit (with traffic on) so I can see if there are any traffic issues in the area.

    Even when I hit outside, its still shows the night versions of the map. Only when I start to approach areas outside of the originally displayed map area will it start to load the "day" version of the map panels. Then, it slowly replaces the night panels with day panels. The rest of the screen has gone to day mode as it should. Just the maps themselves lag. And if it takes me 10 minutes to drive out of the original displayed area, then it'll take 10 min to "go into day mode" for the maps. One way to override this is to zoom in a level or 2, then zoom back out. THen it triggers a forced repainting of the maps in the appropriate day or night mode.

    So, while this is how the maps behave normally, it isn't how they should and its been discussed as something that eventually needs to be addressed.
     
  8. Neech

    Neech Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Chicagoland


    Thanks for the tip - I will try it out today. I should have specified that the NAV screen takes 20+ minutes to change between night/day. The other half usually changes right away. The NAV screen changes one vertical line at a time, so it moves VERY slowly. Driving home last night while it was in the too-bright day mode was oddly uncomfortable .
     
  9. 777dgt

    777dgt Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United States
    Just put some tape over the sensor that "sees" day/night differences. James
     
  10. jomo25

    jomo25 P4398

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,938
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    YOu might just try toggling the NAV app off the screen and back on. Not sure if that'll re-trigger a loading of the panels (will need to try it today). but it might be another easy way to do it until its fixed.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Good idea, but wouldnt that also impact the operation of the headlights if in auto mode?
     
  11. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    After reading jomo's post...

    Point of clarification: Do you mean it takes the vehicle 20 minutes to decide it's time to switch, or that the actual switch takes 20 minutes once begun?
     

Share This Page