TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

CHAdeMO error tracking thread

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by snooprob, May 3, 2015.

  1. snooprob

    snooprob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    So I grabbed a CHAdeMO adapter to get from Boston to Montreal (Supercharging doesn't quite cover it yet ;-) ) - and stopped in Burlington VT to give it the first field test. Few issues:
    1) First ChargePoint unit (Marketplace Garage) - was down... make sure to check your ChargePoint app first! :p
    2) The second ChargePoint unit (Burlington Electric) - gave me a VE122 error despite multiple attempts to follow instructions and reset the unit.
    3) Finally ended up at the Nissan dealer - which was a bonus as their charger put out 37.5 kW (as opposed to the 25kW the Fuji Electric units from ChargePoint were rated at).

    Other data:
    - I'm running the 6.2 software (but I'm pretty sure that doesn't affect the charging electronics software).

    So questions:
    - anyone else gotten VE122 with a Fuji Electric CHAdeMO unit?
    - I can't find "Vehicle error" troubleshooting anywhere...?

    thx! Rob
     
  2. ViperDoc

    ViperDoc Roadster 1305

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Vermont
    You should have stopped by to charge at our place. NEMA14-50 outlet and easy to route off highway through Jericho and back. We are on plug share!

    DJ


     
  3. snooprob

    snooprob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    I confirmed the problem appears to be communication - tried a SECOND Fuji Electric / ChargePoint / CHAdeMO in Burlington on the way home and had the same problem (VE122 error)... so I ended up back at the Nissan dealer (pulling 37.5kW at least B-) )

    Thanks for the offer DJ - was in a bit of a hurry this trip - but next time I head up that way I'd love to stop by and meet!

    My local service center manager escalated issue to Tesla CHAdeMO team, and I'm going to ping ChargePoint on it too... will see what we turn up (my guess is simple software/communication issue - as that's so common in EVs and all this "new" interoperability stuff)... and will also ping ChargePoint - I couldn't find any reference material for VExxx codes anywhere... so maybe there's no "standard"?

    Rob
     
  4. Cosmacelf

    Cosmacelf Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399
    Location:
    San Diego
  5. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
  6. RiverBrick

    RiverBrick Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Québec
    Since the Fuji's are acting up, between Hookset and Montrea I would recommend stopping in White River Junction at one of the Nissan manufactured CHAdeMO units.
     
  7. Cosmacelf

    Cosmacelf Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399
    Location:
    San Diego
    Well, I doubt it was intentional, if that is even what happened.
     
  8. mattmass

    mattmass Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I picked up the CHAdeMO adapter for exactly the same reason as snooprob - getting between Boston and Montreal. Referring to PlugShare, I figured this would be a great temporary solution until at least one other supercharger gets built out. I am now fairly nervous about making the trip this weekend, which will also be my first real trip with the Model S.
     
  9. Chris Ahlers

    Chris Ahlers New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    I purchased a new CHAdeMO adapter from Tesla yesterday, and attempted to use it at the NJCAR CHAdeMO Fuji unit later the same day. I received a "CE110" error and was unable to charge. Any thoughts?
     
  10. RandyS

    RandyS Fan of Elon

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    San Diego
    For another data point, I was able to successfully get a Chademo charge at the So Cal San Juan Capistrano Fuji 25 kW unit...I get out of the car, close the doors, lock the car with the fob (power down), connect the adapter and charge cable, and start the charge session...
     
  11. bluetinc

    bluetinc Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    MD
    Randy,

    Did you have to do exactly this, and only this, to get it to work or, did you just happen to do this and it worked on your first try?

    Peter

     
  12. snooprob

    snooprob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Yea - interesting data point - as that is *NOT* what I did... the car door was open in one case, and in another it was closed, but there were people in the car and it wasn't locked... I still think we've got a software issue - but I don't have any way to tell what version(s) of software were on the chargers (would probably need ChargePoint to tell me that).

    For future reference - here's what the error codes mean (from the 25kW ChargePoint Fuji unit at the Burlington Electric Company):

    CHAdeMO-errors.jpg
     
  13. Chris Ahlers

    Chris Ahlers New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    snooprob, thanks for the error code list. I wonder if "charger not available" could mean that I need to swipe my chargepoint card before charging? Do all chargepoint units require a card swipe, even if they are free? I apologize for the newbie question....
     
  14. snooprob

    snooprob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Chris - when I was trying to get the ChargePoint Fuji 25kW unit working in Burlington VT in the central garage, I flipped the main (electric) breaker a few times to "reboot" the unit, and got that message displayed on the ChargePoint (green-white LED screen) as a scrolling message... is that what you saw?

    If so - I think that's indicating a fault between the ChargePoint control electronics, and the Fuji charger electronics (I.E. the "smarts" in the ChargePoint authorization/metering bit can't see the on/off bits in the Fuji electronics) - make sense?

    Where (what ChargePoint station location) were you seeing that error - ? I reported the problem with the Burlington one to ChargePoint (no response yet) - if it was another unit, I would start by calling or emailing ChargePoint :)

    FWIW - your mileage may vary on the repairs... I've put in tickets with ChargePoint and come back 3-6 months later to a (still) broken unit... they're no where near as effective as Tesla on the SuperChargers (and even that can lag a bit - days to weeks) :-\

    Rob
     
  15. RiverBrick

    RiverBrick Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Québec
    Yes, afaik all CP stations require a swipe or activation by the CP mobile app, even if they're free.

    There have been strange bugs where certain locations only work with a card and not the app or vice-versa. Some people have submitted their CC info and had credit balances are their account, but still received "acct not authorized for pay" messages when trying to use stations as well.

    For even more fun, the mobile app will only allow you to start a session if your GPS puts you very close to the station. Unfortunately, the coordinates CP has on file can be wrong. For example, thinking the station is at the entrance to a parking lot when it's actually deep in the back.
     
  16. Btrflyl8e

    Btrflyl8e Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,283
    Location:
    Seminole, Florida, United States
    After a little CHAdeMO party we had recently when I got my adapter, we struggled with errors and not being to get it to charge. This was a greenlots charger, where you just needed the app on your phone and had to scan the QR code to unlock the box.

    After much frustration, LolRick finally hit upon this sequence to get it to charge, and has now done so with success on multiple occasions:

    Open charge port
    Connect adapter to car
    Authenticate on the box
    Connect charger to adapter
    Let the charger hang and LEAVE IT ALONE
    It will start/stop/check plug and eventually start charging
     
  17. nleggatt

    nleggatt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    How many km / hour are you seing on chademo?
     
  18. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have found that if I make all the physical connections,CHAdeMO plug to adapter and adapter to car, before trying to authorize and start charging on the CHAdeMO, it works best. I believe that is what the Tesla instruction card that comes with the adapter, written in "Iconish" says. (BTW, I really dislike instructions written in Iconish.)

    Longmont Tesla Iconish.JPG


    If go to the URL on that card, and then go to the CHAdeMO Adapter Owners Manual in English, on Page 2, the instructions say just that:
    CHAdeMO Manual-2.jpg
     
  19. Cosmacelf

    Cosmacelf Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,399
    Location:
    San Diego
    One issue people have is that it often isn't just "pushing until it snaps into place". Some Chademo handles have this lever that you must counter-intuitively squeeze as you are pressing the adapter and Chademo handle together (yes, this takes three hands). Unless you squeeze the lever as you push, it won't snap into place.
     
  20. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    Those "squeeze to engage" CHAdeMO connectors are very counter-intuitive. The "Iconish" instructions don't help much either...

    Longmont Iconish-1.JPG
     

Share This Page