TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Chamberlain Home Link not working

Discussion in 'Model X' started by windward, Jan 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    My new X ( delivered a few weeks ago) has a different setting that my previous Model S, in this new system you have to select a system for the programing, one of them is Chamberlain which is one of those systems that learn the remote. That is not working, I can only program using the "standard" system with a remote control in front of the car.
    Anybody else having this problem. Is this part of the update that is supposed to come with the Autopilot, auto wipers etc etc?
     
  2. travwill

    travwill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    That is the most common method. We used it also with a Chamberlain. It seems to be the method with a rolling code which is most common. You have the car learn the remote by standing by hood and holding button, then you have to press button on garage door opener itself to have it in learn/accept remote code, and you quickly go back to car and trigger homelink and its accepted.
     
  3. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    Yes I understand but the Model X has a system for Chamberlain, so you don't have to go in front with a remote. This does not work
     
  4. acadapter

    acadapter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    I think the system differences depend on your model garage motor, not the X. Some motor units can program without an additional remote.

     
  5. MisterT2

    MisterT2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Fredonia, WI
    My Chamberlin Liftmaster did not need the remote. I hit the learn button on the wall mounted door opener as per onscreen instructions. I knew it worked before I tried it, because the light flashed.

    I found it faster to do my other garage doors using the remote.
     
  6. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    Sorry maybe I did not explain myself well. My model S had the system that work with "learn" switch on my garage. I started with the garage, press "learn" and then go to the car and proceed. That is how works with every car. But my new Model X does not work like that, has an option for "standard" which means I have to use a remote, stand in front of the car and do it, but also has the option for "Chamberlain" and "default rolling" none of this two work. I could go and buy a remote and do it the standard way but that would be to accept that the model X system does not work.
    I hope this IMG_1304.jpg IMG_1305.jpg IMG_1306.jpg pictures explain it
     
  7. carlshome

    carlshome Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    This morning I was successful in programming HomeLink on my MX with a new Chamberlain garage door opener. I just followed the instructions on the Tesla screen. Worked first try. Consider resetting your Tesla computers and try again.
     
  8. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    But if you do it with a remote? I can do it with a remote with my chamberlain garage but not with the chamberlain system in the car. Did you set it like the pictures I sent or used the default standard system?
     
  9. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    If you did it with the remote is not the problem I have, mine also works with the remote going in front of the car.
    The problem with the standard procedure is that it is not secure because younarebteachingnthe car a bout a remote, so that remot desoj ton become unique. The chamberlain system is to have the car generate its own signal. In my case I need different signal because I have a gate and a garage and I can't use the same remote even though both are chamberlain. That si why the X has the options (like all cars with homelink) to do it directly with chamberlain and not with a remote standing in front of the car. Se pictures above
     
  10. PedanticOne

    PedanticOne MyTesla Refresh Champion

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I had never seen such a thing until now. Certainly all other HomeLink cars I've owned have always done the point-the-remote method. That said, I just looked at the latest Cayenne user manual as an example and while they don't call out Chamberlain specifically, they do have a separate programming method for "changeable-code systems". So there's my 'new thing' I learned today. ;)
     
  11. PedanticOne

    PedanticOne MyTesla Refresh Champion

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Which model Chamberlain do you have, @windward?
     
  12. bmah

    bmah Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA
    Curious. This isn't exclusively a Model X thing, my Model S 85D (running 8.0 (2.50.114)) has this selection as well, although I don't remember seeing it before. Is this a new software feature?

    Bruce.
     
  13. windward

    windward Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Miami
    Probably is the 8.0 update.
    Changeable code systems and rolling systems are made to protect the house because if somode stole your remote, you lost it or negihbor that by coincidence has the same code, it would opne your garage. A rollling code keeps on changing, is not a set of numbers.

    So in summary YES you could program your tesla with the "standard system" going in front of the car and the car learning the freqeuncy of the remote. If you lose that remote it will be the same as the car. Now if the car emits a unique code and you have your garage "learned" that code only the car has it.
    In Tesla it used to be one system, or you use the remote or have the garage learn, now it gives you options ( see my pictures above). But this is also no a perfect system becuse it states that if you changes systems you delete the Homelink so if you had a garage with Chamberlain and a gate with another system you would have to use a remote in one of them.
     

Share This Page