TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Changing Drive Mode On The Fly?

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Pantera Dude, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. Pantera Dude

    Pantera Dude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    In my 2008 Roadster it appears that I can't change the drive mode while driving? It seems that I have to stop the car and at least pull the emergency brake, is that correct? I rode in a roadster once, (don't know what model) and I thought the guy changed the drive mode while sitting at a light?
     
  2. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    There are two ways in your 1.5 to change modes. Turning the key or better is to simply touch the green battery icon on your VDS. Each touch will cycle through Standard (default) Performance, and Range, back to Standard.

    This was a free Firmware upgrade we got after about a year or so of ownership.
     
  3. Pantera Dude

    Pantera Dude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    I'll give it a go! Thanks Eric

    Art
     
  4. Rodolfo Paiz

    Rodolfo Paiz P85 "Plug and Play"

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    The functionality in the 2.5 is identical to vfx's description, by the way. It's not just for the 1.5.

    Although I wonder why touching the battery icon on the VDS is considered "better"? I usually display the Wh/mile on the VDS, and when I'm going to need/want Performance mode for a little while when driving, I find it more convenient to just turn the key. That goes from Standard mode to Performance mode, and then toggles back to Standard mode if I do it again.
     
  5. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    For a year or so the 1.5's only would work if the key was turned while the car was stopped with the handbrake pulled up. There was a workaround where you could pull up just one click on the handbrake while you were still moving and then turn the key to cycle though the modes, then release the brake. Once they sent the firmware to use the touch screen that became "easier".
     
  6. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    So I'd have to "request" this special firmware for the key option that selects the drive modes? I have the latest VMS firmware, but I guess not the 'magic' firmware.
     
  7. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    This upgrade for the 1.5s is years old now. There is no mention of it (of course) in the manual so are you sure you don't have it? Go for a drive and try.
     
  8. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    #8 wiztecy, Dec 4, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
    Appears I don't have it, did a twist of the key and nothing changed on the VMS. I'll send Tesla an email and see if its still available.
     
  9. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,532
    Location:
    Vermont
    Are you sure you twisted the key from the normal drive position to the position that would activate the starter on an ICE car? I drove a 2.0 almost 2 yrs ago and it worked then.
     
  10. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    I gave it a go and twisted the key from "on" to "start" while driving. I'm sure the original owner who had the Roadster before me didn't make the request.

     
  11. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,532
    Location:
    Vermont
    It's not something you should have to request. If your car has ever had a software upgrade then it should work.
     
  12. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    I thought I had the latest VMS firmware from last when I checked 1 month ago, I'll correspond with Telsa so see how to get it. Thanks!
     
  13. djp

    djp Roadster 2.0 VIN939

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,108
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    You can get the firmware version by downloading your log file and running it through VMS Parser. I'm at firmware version 4.6.5 for my Roadster 2.0.

    VMS Log Parser for Tesla Roadster

    The switch to Performance takes a second. Try turning the key all the way forward and holding it there briefly.
     
  14. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    How do you change driving modes now?

    And this. And this with the emergncy brake pulled up.
     
  15. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Held the key forward with car on and in drive (with e-brake pulled up and also released) for over 5 seconds, still no change. The way I change driving modes now is touching the battery icon on the VMS screen, which I don't like since its very awkward when driving.

    My firmware is as follows:

    Car Firmware: 3.6.7
    VMS Firmware: 8.67.0

    I thought the firmware deviated from the 1.5 vs. the 2.x's and not compatible.

     
  16. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    I don't know if the key turn works any more in my car. Once the firmware was installed I stopped using it (They both worked at that time). 1.5 and 2.9 are very different. Are you a 1.5?

    VDS screen.
     
  17. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Yes, a 1.5; #268

     
  18. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    May the disabled it along the way. A dozen firmwares since then. Let us know what you find out.
     
  19. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Will do, it possibly could have got knocked out of Tesla's source code "check-ins" for the updated Firmware since I've seen that happen (from working in software/embedded systems).

    I see this feature as a safety enhancement really, its just way too tight of an area reaching between the door and steering wheel to do the selection change. The key side is way wide open and free.

     
  20. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    I received a reply to the "key drive selection" question from Tesla, it was included with the very old firmware (3+ years ago) and didn't get inherited in later firmware updates. So if you have the key selection, you most likely have old outdated firmware. Too bad.
     

Share This Page