TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Charge queuing question

Discussion in 'Charging Standards and Infrastructure' started by Ticobird, Feb 23, 2015.

1. Ticobird

Ticobird Member

I am new to Tesla and wanted to ask about the process of queuing in a parking lot for a turn at a busy EC. How exactly is this handled?

- - - Updated - - -

I obviously meant SC rather than EC.:smile:

2. TexasEV

TexasEV Active Member

In the southeast it's likely you'll never experience this.

3. Enadler

Enadler Member

I've used the SC's about a dozen times and have never had that issue.

4. purplewalt

purplewalt Active Member

As you travel a bit, and go to more populated areas (and routes), you may actually have to occasionally wait.
    I have seen cars pull up, patiently wait until the first (fully charged) car leaves and then they pull into the next open Supercharger bay.
    If there is another car that arrives, it queues into line.
    Et cetera.

And sometimes, the late arriving (local) Model S pulls up, sees that all stations are full and they decide to not wait and they go on to somewhere else for a while.

I have encountered full Supercharger stations @ Mt. Shasta, Las Vegas, Fremont, Hawthorne, Barstow, Laguna Seca (temporary), Huntsville, Waco and Denver, CO (mall).
    And I have been to a whole lot more stations where I have been the lone car charging.

As Model S (and soon-to-be Model X) will be the only cars that can currently charge @ a Supercharger, you will probably be unobstructed for a while.
    After Model 3 comes on-line and after a couple of years of ramped-up production, things might get a bit more interesting, especially during peak Summer and Holiday travel times.