Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charger question for campus's

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello.
I'm a Facilities Engineer for a Fortune 100 company in the upstate New York area. We are in the midst of installing electric chargers through out the campus not only for Tesla vehicles, but for other as well. My question would be regarding charging money for charging the car. I'm being told by my legal department that I can not make the chargers free as A) It would be income to the employee that would be open to be taxed, etc, and B) Others are asking me where the company gas pumps would be for free gas.

Has anyone else dealt with this ? How have they handled it ?

Does you company offer free coffee? I don't drink coffee, what about me then. Should free coffee be considered income?

I believe that all you have to do is to expand your existing green policy to include charging for any employee OR visitor that wants to take advantage of it. Some companies also offer incentives to buy EVs. A local Cisco facility offers incentives and they've got a large number of chargers for employees and visitors.

I'm pretty sure that your law department gave the classic response "Since I don't want to do any research and my job doesn't depend on it, the answer is always NO"

Lawyers, you can't live with them, and it would be so much easier to live without them!

Due check on rules in your state/locale. In some places like e.g. TX only an electric utility can sell metered electricity. What my company in california has done is contract with ChargePoint to put EVSE's, we then arrange to have charge point bill employees at the peak commercial rate we pay for electricity ($.11 to $.13 / Kwh). It's cheaper than what you would pay in a residential setting and the little bit extra that's taken in off peak pays for the Chargepoint maintenance contract.