TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Charging a Tesla in Switzerland

Discussion in 'Europe' started by Mitrovic, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    So far, I have used 4 different charging stations in Switzerland. Here are my thoughts. I would love to hear from other Tesla "users" about their experience:

    You can look up the exact location at LEMnet - Internationales Verzeichnis der Stromtankstellen

    On the highway A1 Deitingen direction Zürich:
    Park And Charge. Two places. 16 A. But I'm wondering whar are you doing with just 10 Aon the highway?

    On the highway A1 Grauholz both direction.
    4 places, up to 30 A. Free. Nice. A nice restaurant ( for a highway stop )

    th_d4a9756f.jpg

    In Bern, next to the Waisenhausplatz. Park and Charge. Two places 16 A. Nice. All the shops and restaurants around! ( Best place to park if you are visiting Bern )

    In Murten Park and Charge. One place. 16 A. Jsut at the gate of the medieval town of Murten!

    th_95d9c1f6.jpg
     
  2. Eberhard

    Eberhard #421 Model S #S32

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Germany
    If you are in Zürich and you don't want to charge at the Tesla Store, you will find an HPC with 64A and several 32A CEE-socket at the Grand Dolder parking-house at the upmost level.
     
  3. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
  4. Bill25cycle

    Bill25cycle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Hi, As an American Pre-Owner, I'm hopeful not to have the problem charging that Europeans have, as 40 amperes @ 240 volts is commonly available in American Homes. I understand Volkswagen has decided on a 3-phase standard, so am I correct in assuming that anything but the smallest home in Europe has a 240Y/416 volt 50 hz 3-phase electric service? In America, only the very largest mansions have anything more than a 240 volt single phase service, with 100 amperes being the minimum for new construction, up to 200 amperes for average sized electrically heated homes, and 300 or 400 amperes for the very largest electricaly heated homes, but again, almost always single phase service.


    Could any of our European friends clue me in as to what is 'standard' in Europe? I understand branch lighting circuits are either 6 or 10 amperes, and appliance circuits are either 10 or 16 amperes (always @ 240 volts 50 hz). Thank you so much.

    Bill
     
  5. Eberhard

    Eberhard #421 Model S #S32

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Germany
    #5 Eberhard, Apr 1, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    an normal house in Germany has 400V/64A at 3-phase, can be upgraded with no problems to 128A. That's 44kW or 88kW power. If you have a heat pump etc. you will have an additional circuit with own fuses etc. Our electric stove with oven has a 400V/16A 3-phase direct connection (no plug/socket). I have already an 20 year old socket with 400V/32A in my garage. Unfortunately i can only charge on one phase, thats means instead of 22kW I can only charge with 7kW. Our standard household socket comes with 230V/16A single phase and is available everywhere in Germany. Even this is enough with 3,5kW if you charge overnight and not having the battery completely depleted before.
     
  6. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    #6 suxxer, Apr 1, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    In Europe we have 240V 50Hz (see image).

    [​IMG]

    As we have 3-Phase grids (I can speak for Switzerland), every House also has 380/400V 3-Phase access (for stoves, cooking plates...). This because one is not allowed to pull more than 3500W one phase (which means [email protected]). If you want to use Units with more than 3500W (stoves etc.), you have to use 3-Phase wirings (to avoid the so-called "Schieflast").Standard breakers are mostly 10A or 13A (2400W - 3200W).

    ps. The term 3-Phase right, but not complete. If you look at the plugs we have 5 pins. That's 3 phases (L1,L2,L3), one Neutral and one Ground. Neutral is "equalising current".
     
  7. Kevin Sharpe

    Kevin Sharpe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,761
    Location:
    Bradford on Avon, UK
    In the UK (assuming that's part of Europe) we have limited amounts of 3-Phase deployment at homes and small business. Most properties have 230V 80A or 100A single phase supplies from the grid.
     
  8. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    ^ but getting 3-phase is pretty easy as it's in virtually every street. My apartment block has 3 phase, with each apartment connected to one of them - but it would be trivial to connect an outdoor charge point to all three. Electrically heated homes here will have 3 phase.
     
  9. emq

    emq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Zürich
    What is the minimum Charging current you can ajust if you have only 6A, 8A or 10A 230V
     
  10. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    The minimum current is 10A.

    Swiss Roadsters charge at 10A if the pilot signal is absent (normally the default value set in the firmware is 16A if no pilot is present, but they had to adjust it for Switzerland).
     
  11. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    Is that done to Swiss cars or by GPS to all cars?
     
  12. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    It is done via Firmware - i asked the local Tesla Tech.
     
  13. emq

    emq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Zürich
    So, if you upgrade your Charging infrastructor 10A to 16A you have to upgrade the roadster firmware to get 16A (Mode 1, without signal) with the original 10/16A Cable ?

    If you have a 16A firmware can you set 10A at the roadster VDS ? What is minimum Amps?

    Is the original EU 10/16A 240V cable named "Spare Mobile Connector" like the US 120V 15A cable ?
     
  14. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    yes. In Switzerland the standard outlet is 10A (newer ones may have 13A). To avoid triggering the fuse of standard outlet TM has modified the firmware to charge at 10A if no pilot is present.

    yes.

    yes. It's the same cable as it doesn't supply any pilot signal. If you want to charge 16A with a Swiss Roadster you have to get a UMC with 16A-Adapter. (or have your firmware modified...)
     
  15. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    So there is a risk of a Roadster passing through and plugging in a tripping things? It would be easier to do it with GPS you'd think. Oh well.
     
  16. emq

    emq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Zürich
    #16 emq, Apr 14, 2011
    Last edited: May 7, 2011
    Teslaroadster charging Support in Switzerland, CH-TAB conform, TAB>Technische AnschlussBedingungen, technical connection roules


    30A / 32A 240V 7,2 / 7,68kVA with 400V 20A breaker / fuse

    40A 240V 9,6kVA with 400V 25A breaker / fuse, typical for appartments

    70A 240V 16,8kVA with 400V 50A breaker / fuse, typical for house connection

    The Swiss CH-TAB limits single phase to 16A 230V 3,6kVA , or 16A 400V 6kVA

    If there are favorable grid conditions, I support you to get, by the utility, a conditional connection, with higher rates.

    EmQ Energy meets Quality
     
  17. TRON

    TRON Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania, Romania
    Hi folks,

    I just talked on the Tesla "Kesselbergrennen" event in Munich some days ago with a swiss Tesla owner, who said, that Switzerland has the highest Tesla/habitant relation in the world. Switzerland decided to install on all charging stations a 64A Tesla connector :)))))
     
  18. suxxer

    suxxer ElektroVolt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    By "Switzerland decided" you mean the swiss government?? I didn't hear anything like that... The government is still in deep freeze when it comes to EVs. It's a shame...
     
  19. emq

    emq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Zürich
    "Switzerland decided to install on all charging stations a 64A Tesla connector :)))))"

    I am completly surprised and can hardly imagine such a intension.
    Can you say more to this subject !
    Who is Switzerland?
    Could you help me to get in contact to the swiss Tesla owner, to find out more about this strategie.
     
  20. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    May be the talk is about Texxenergy, who should make an announcement shortly...
    Amd in this announcement they will say something about 63 A and Tesla....
     

Share This Page