Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging at Home need help: Extension cable, outlet, new cable?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello all,

I've recently took deliver of my model 3 (less then 48 hours ago), I attempted to charge my car at home today and noticed the standard charging kit that came with my car doesn't reach any outlet.

For the time being I'll be using a local super charge station but would like to be charging from home as it can inconvenient having to visit a super charger every time to charge. I'm unfamiliar with the electrical world, I'm a software engineer/developer so this isn't quite my forte and could use some help.

My question here is can I use my existing charging kit the came with my car (Gen 2 Mobile Connector Bundle) with an extension cable? I've seen extension cables like this one recommended:

upload_2020-6-20_17-43-2.png

I have no outlet where I would be able to plug the above extender in the image.

Any recommendations on what I can do?

...standard charging kit that came with my car doesn't reach any outlet...

Would you please expand on that thought?

It doesn't reach because your car is outside of your garage?

It doesn't reach because your car is inside of your garage and it only needs 2 more inches to reach?

...outlet...

What kind of outlet do you have?

Standard 120V 15A for older homes?

Standard 120V 20A for newer homes?

240V 30A from your home dryer outlet?

240V 50A outlet to accommodate what you show on the above picture (NEMA 14-50)?

Please post a picture of your outlets that you want to use.

• Helpful
Reactions: Matsayz and Rocky_H
Would you please expand on that thought?

It doesn't reach because your car is outside of your garage?

It doesn't reach because your car is inside of your garage and it only needs 2 more inches to reach?

What kind of outlet do you have?

Standard 120V 15A for older homes?