Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging but not.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey guys super noob here. Did some forum searching and i think i have the answer but thought i’d get the consensus.

Got my MY a week ago been using just the 115v in the garage overnight and its been normally at 4 kw/h (added 31 miles) last night 8 hrs. ( i know i’m switching metrics here) Anyway after a short trip this morn came back home and plugged in for the 2 hrs before leaving to work and was getting 0 kw/h but the time to full was still counting down. And counting down at a rate that would put me at 290 miles in 24 hrs. Which my crude math would be (4mi per hr like last night)
I gained only 2 miles in this two hr charge. Strange
My guess car sees the circuit cant take the 10A charge but still shows its charging at that but only maybe 1/2-1 kw/h.
Sorry for all the switching back and forth. My electricity background is i know how to let smoke out of the wires.

Thanks

Attachments

• 82F41A9D-7D49-4530-8AC1-F0D875266C75.jpeg
    82F41A9D-7D49-4530-8AC1-F0D875266C75.jpeg
    106.9 KB · Views: 164
  • 551A6742-0E83-4DC0-86B6-206BF27F0470.jpeg
    551A6742-0E83-4DC0-86B6-206BF27F0470.jpeg
    111.3 KB · Views: 112
What was the ambient temperature both before and after the short trip? A short trip won't warm the battery much, so 100% of the input power was going to warm the battery. This is why 120V charging is discouraged.