Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging etiquette at Airports

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello - I'm new to the electric car scene. I travel frequently for work, mostly international trips. I noticed on my last trip to Newark airport that there were electric charging stations in the parking garage.

If I decide to use one of the chargers on my next strip, what is the general protocol with regards to removing the charger from your car once done? If I go away on a flight, I'm typically gone for 3-5 days. Wouldn't that piss people off if I hogged up the parking spot for this time while I'm away?

Or do people only use the chargers for short-term charging before you return home?

If the charger is in the airport garage, I seriously doubt anyone's using them for post-flight charging before they leave. Everyone's just going to leave their car connected. An airport charger is the one exception I can think of where it's not rude to leave your car connected when it's done charging.

That's why the airports around here have a vast number of low-speed chargers, instead of a few faster ones.

The STL airport put in 208V, 16A chargers (usually 199V with drop). They have no problem with people soaking up the juice there.

They're located in an intermediate lot, which means you'll pay higher parking fees for longer trips.

I've contacted other garages who advised me to park near 120V outlets and use them.

Be aware that depending on the airport, the chargers that are available may require membership to a certain charging network (like Chargepoint or eVgo), and may not be free. Furthermore, some of them may bill you per connected amount of time instead of by the amount of power consumed. Just be aware of what the billing structure is before leaving the vehicle plugged in for several days.