Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Choosing Options - For a Newbie

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Tesla fans...this is my first post and I'm totally new to the Tesla world. I do participate heavily in forums for my other toy, a Cirrus SR22 plane. (Anyone else here from COPA?)

I have two dumb questions typical of a first time poster. First, though, I have decided against the Model X, due to all the problems I see on this site and now in Consumer Reports. It looks cool; in fact my plane has similar gull wings. But I'm not prepared to deal with all the issues.

So, on to the Model S:

1. Choosing Options: Is there a link here with advice on how to choose the right model (will probably go for longest range) and options? I don't expect anyone to write a long answer...just hoping it's written up somewhere else here (as it is on the Cirrus site....SR20 versus SR22 model).

2. When is the "next generation" of Model S, and should I wait? I really want the "autopilot" capabilities and realize they are in their infancy. I don't want to buy, only to find out a new model was right around the corner and everyone knew it.

Any advice appreciated before I take the plunge!!!

Good questions and I'm sure there are a lot of other people thinking the same thing. I don't think anyone knows the answer to #2, and based upon how Tesla releases updates mid-cycle when they are ready, I don't think we will get any notice before Tesla makes an announcement of the next car. That said, they are going to be pretty busy with the Model 3, so I predict that the MS will continue to have a long life with periodic upgrades such as AP2. The recent hire of the Volvo interior design guru might indicate that an interior refresh is likely before major exterior changes arrive. (And looking at a MS, who wants to change that design? Love it!)