TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Classic MS (MS1) Jump Terminal Fuse (Where?)

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Exiom, Jan 7, 2020.

  1. Exiom

    Exiom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hi,

    As per topic, I am looking for the location of the Jump Terminal Fuse.
    Does anyone know the location of it?

    I was hoping to attach a wireless EV horn onto it and found that it does not provide power, so I am suspecting that it's fuse maybe blown.

    I have searched and searched... and I seem to only be able to find out that it's 50A but no location.

    So if anyone is able to point me in the right direction or even photos of where it is... it'd be great!

    Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. Exiom

    Exiom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Bump! Help? Please?

    I have searched everywhere and I see that the MS has 4 fuse boxes but none of the fuses seems to be related to the jump terminals or 50A.
     
  3. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 Porsche 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,414
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I recall that the 50A fuse is mounted directly on top of the 12V battery... Fuse F83, Jump post as shown below. :cool:

    upload_2020-1-9_21-58-47.png
     
    • Like x 1
  4. Exiom

    Exiom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Much Thanks!
     
    • Like x 1
  5. possum22

    possum22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Mt. Isa, Qld
    His car is RHD, the fuse is mounted on the side of battery holder on the passenger side of the car, got to take the battery & holder out to get to the fuses, mine(RHD) is also blown(from connecting up a battery charger to the posts) so I bypass it, to hard to get the holder out.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. Exiom

    Exiom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Can you elaborate on bypass? Because I am trying to get some power in the frunk and I was hoping I dont have to tap directly off the battery as it does seem very troublesome to access for RHD cars as the positive terminal seems to be on the inside (I am guessing LHD->RHD they didn't flip it around) and accessing it means you have to remove the aircon filter airbox and the top trim which means also removing the wipers...
     
  7. possum22

    possum22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Mt. Isa, Qld
    Yes, I removed the aircond box, didn't removed the wipers, had dead MCU at the time, couldn't put the wipers into service mode, was able to get the battery out. Ran a 6mm wire from the battery to the + post behind the nosecone.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC