TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Clock on the Center Display

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by rogelio888, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. rogelio888

    rogelio888 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago
    Any way to put a clock on the center display?
     
  2. jomo25

    jomo25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Use browser on console and go to dash.time4tesla.com

    Haven't tried in a while. I assume it still works?
     
  3. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Voltage makes me tingle.

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,744
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    There is already a clock at the top of the touchscreen and driver's console. I guess you mean a big picture of an analog clock?

    Why use screen real estate for that?
     
  4. Zextraterrestrial

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Humboldt/Los Altos
    • Like x 1
  5. sp4rk

    sp4rk Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Because the clock top right is FAR too small.
     
  6. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Can't be as bad as the charging volts/amps readout in the Roadster.
     
  7. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,355
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ehh, there's one on the dash display also (much closer=easier to see?).
     
  8. Volker.Berlin

    Volker.Berlin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
  9. rogelio888

    rogelio888 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago
    How is tho clock installed?
     
  10. sp4rk

    sp4rk Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    Thanks for the thought. Nigel. That one is the same point size. And when the dash dims, still impossible to see as is the entire bottom row of stuff.
    I would LOVE to see TM add a clock app so I could have a digital clock to the left of the speedo when GPS not there.
    Or right.
    Or center. :)
     
  11. gregincal

    gregincal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,757
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Actually I think the one on the dash is actually smaller. I agree a large clock on the dash would be nice. When I'm not using Nav (most of the time) I don't find any good use for half the dash (one half is trip computer, the other half displays media info, except I have media info already up on the center console).
     
  12. kendallpb

    kendallpb Model S: P 8061

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Analog? Yipes no--digital, and it needn't be big, IMHO.

    I've been tempted to pull up a digital clock display in the browser. I just squint, for now, but the dash and main screens are too small for my aging eyes and I don't usually need half the screen, anyway. I have the energy readout (also on dash) and the "radio" (listening to audiobooks, I hardly need to look at the faux radio dial). Really, while I'm driving, the whole big display is somewhat wasted, I suppose. Gah, I never thought of it like this.... ;-)
     
  13. ddruz

    ddruz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    North Shore Oahu, HI
    I concur. I use this very frequently. It's extremely sharp.
     
  14. sp4rk

    sp4rk Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    If the browser could handle multiple windows, I would agree, but to use the browser for a clock is like swatting a fly with a gun.
    Just make us an app, please TM?
     
  15. Volker.Berlin

    Volker.Berlin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    And while you are at it, make it available in the instrument cluster, too. No browser-based "app" is ever able to do this.
     
  16. cjesurun

    cjesurun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    Looking for help.
    Tesla time works on my S but not on my X. It says on the bottom in red that it can not find the location of my car and clock always reads 12 o'clock.
    Any advice?
     
  17. Barry

    Barry Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Colorado
    Call service. Probably an issue with the GPS antenna.
     
  18. cjesurun

    cjesurun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    Thanks-I'll do that but my GPS seeming to working OK.
     
  19. KArnold

    KArnold Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Columbus OH
    It's already there. Push in on the right scroll wheel (I think) where you choose the right side IC display option like status, energy, etc. One of the options is "clock".
     
  20. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,451
    Location:
    Canada
    The X is caught in a black hole?
     
    • Funny x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC