Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Coming from eGolf, my Model 3 SR+ range doesn't feel right

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi there,

Sorry for starting yet another range thread, but I'm new to Tesla but not to electric cars and something feels wrong, so I'm hoping to see what others who have more experience think.

Background for my comparisons:

I owned a Volkswagen eGolf for 3 years with 200km (125 mile) range. I'm a fairly cautious driver so was able to hit 200km constantly during summer months. I would use the air conditioning all the time and during long country drives, could hit 230km range in ideal conditions. In the winter time, the cold temperatures and heat use would drop me down to ranges of 130-100km.

Now I have a new Model 3 SR+ with a rated 400km (250 mile) range that I've been driving for a few weeks. I have kept the aerodynamic wheel covers on. I use the air conditioning as I did in the eGolf. I have sentry mode on, but not at home where I spend most of my time. I don't notice a drop in battery that much overnights. I have not changed my driving habits and still visit the same locations I did before. I charge my Tesla up to 90% and when fully charged, the battery display reads about 350km, which seems about right.

The problem I'm having is that I'm not getting anywhere near 350kms. The battery seems to drain much quicker than it should, so I'm only getting about 230-250km (150 miles). I've linked a picture below showing I've driven 195km since last charge, with only 55km remaining on the battery. And by the pattern I've seen, I wouldn't even get 55km out of the remaining charge. Also I took this picture after plugging in for 15-20 minutes. At the lowest, it read 40kms left.

Is this right? I know the Teslas have a lot more electronics, a constant internet connection, etc. and all that uses battery, but that seems like a huge drop!