Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Consistently overstating remaining range

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have a late 2017 S75D, and I've noticed the expected range that's displayed is always overstated by 15-20%, no matter where or how I'm driving. My commute for example is exactly 31 miles one-way, and the car always seems to "use" 35-38 miles. Even for longer trips, the range used will be 15-20% higher than what's estimated. This happens independent of driving style (I'm a fairly conservative driver), weather (I live in the Bay Area so it's always temperate), and hills/traffic (my drives are generally flat without too much traffic). My energy reading shows a pretty consistent 300 Wh per mile +-10%. Is this a normal thing for Model S's, and shouldn't the on-board computer adjust its estimate based on historical energy usage and driving patterns?

I have a late 2017 S75D, and I've noticed the expected range that's displayed is always overstated by 15-20%, no matter where or how I'm driving. My commute for example is exactly 31 miles one-way, and the car always seems to "use" 35-38 miles. Even for longer trips, the range used will be 15-20% higher than what's estimated. This happens independent of driving style (I'm a fairly conservative driver), weather (I live in the Bay Area so it's always temperate), and hills/traffic (my drives are generally flat without too much traffic). My energy reading shows a pretty consistent 300 Wh per mile +-10%. Is this a normal thing for Model S's, and shouldn't the on-board computer adjust its estimate based on historical energy usage and driving patterns?
300wh/m is pretty normal. Do you have it set to rated miles or ideal miles? It would WAY overstate the ideal miles.

Also, you're not going to get rated range for short trips. That comes into play more with 100-150mile trips of highway driving.