TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Conversions in Florida part 2

Discussion in 'Electric Conversions' started by dimitri, Jun 8, 2009.

1. dimitri

dimitri Member

Hello everyone,

I am a regular at DYI EV forum, but new here. I followed Daniel's unfortunate experience with EV Conversion and decided to post my own thread here. I have done 2 EV conversions for myself and enjoyed the process and results so much that I decided to offer conversion service to other people. I created my Web site to share the info at Clean Power Auto - Home.

Like many here I have been fascinated by electric propulsion for many years, but only when lithium batteries became available I decided its time to stop waiting for auto industry and take the matter in my own hands.

I have a degree in electronics and computer systems, I have been designing and managing large distributed networks for past 10 years, have excellent project management skills but also enjoy manual labor :smile: .

It turns out I have a knack for taking apart ICE cars and putting in electric drive train, at least that is what people tell me when they see my EVs.

My first EV was 2001 Mazda Miata, which I sold to a guy from New Jersey, he seems to enjoy it very much, or so he tells me :smile:

My 2nd EV is 2002 Mazda Protege5, which uses LiFePo4 battery, Warp9 motor and brand new EVNetics controller, designed and produced by local company here in Tampa. I learned a lot about LiFePo4 batteries and even designed and produced my own BMS system, which monitors and balances each cell in the pack.