Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Convince me on S60

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've been considering a Model S since 2013, I literally go back and forth on it almost every single day. I have 2 model 3 reservations and currently have a 2 year lease on an i3 ending next summer. Looking to have an entertaining discussion on buying/leasing a model S60 now. The biggest hurdle is I'm cheap, currently we have no car payments other than the $200 lease payment on the i3 that pays for itself due to not having to drive our other two ICE cars those miles (gas, maintenance).

I chatted with Tesla this morning, thought maybe an inventory car would push the number down to where frugal me would make the jump, $600 a month seams to be the psychological barrier for me. I could do a stripped down 2 year lease but there are a few options I want, AP of course, panoramic roof, subzero package (can't live without heated seats). I would prefer either white, silver, or silver metallic paint. I'm not against the cloth interior but would prefer black leather.

this configuration pushes lease up to $700+ a month. Unfortunately the inventory cars are almost all higher spec so even though I could get a discount on those it would most likely push payment above ordering new.

This isn't a "can I afford it" issue, we are debt free other than our primary home and make multiple 6 figures a year. Frugal me struggles with the opportunity cost of buying a Model S vs keeping what we have until Model 3. Also, would I prefer to have a fully optioned Model 3 or a basic version of the Model S? First world problems.

The question between 60 and Model 3 is not that different from purchasing C-Class/E-Class or 3 Series/5 Series etc.