Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Convincing a skeptic

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Barklikeadog

Jul 13, 2016
PA
Hello, I've been hanging around the Tesla forums for a few years now. I'm pretty much a skeptic, it seems for every positive of owning a Tesla, there are several negatives. That is just my personal view, I'm not here to attack you. Every car company has plenty of negatives. I prefer to buy battery powered items over ICE despite their limitations, but a large item like an auto is in a different category. I don't see battery powered autos as the future, just the next step. I'm also not on some agenda to save the earth. Less pollution is great, but I'm not going to make significant sacrifices for it. At least not while people like Dicaprio are flying around the world 200 times in a private jet and lecturing us peons about what we are doing wrong...

Anyway, I just wanted to start a conversation to see how my questions/issues with Tesla could be addressed...

1. Elon Musk: I know you look at him like a God... and he is a brilliant guy. But too often he seems to promise the moon(or mars) when more of his attention could be put towards quality, service, making deadlines. People want an affordable car and they get unnecessary Xwing doors.
Q: Will he address issues that bother customers or will he keep chasing down the next big thing?

2. Service: I can't help but be shocked at how long some of you wait in line for service on $100,000 cars.. weeks, months... that is just unacceptable. And they plan to put hundreds of thousands more autos on the road... at this point it doesn't seem like you can build service centers fast enough.
Q: How can this possibly be resolved when Tesla owners multiply?

3. I never buy a 1st gen car of any kind, they are always full of problems. Traditional automakers seem to work those out for the 2nd year of production.