TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Couple of supercharger stalls weren't at max performance, should I contact Tesla, and how?

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by BigAirHarper, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    I was supercharging in Tallahassee earlier this evening and first 2 stalls I tried (no one there but me) only got to around 160A after 5-7 min. Third stall I tried finally ramped to 296A. Should I call Tesla? And if I should which #? First time I've had this happen in about a dozen supercharging sessions.
     
  2. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,787
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Call roadside assistance when that's happening. One of the prompts asks if you're at a supercharger. The number is shown on each supercharger stall.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    Awesome thanks!!! Will know for next time.
     
  4. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    The customer service person will usually flag them as needing service. If you can call in it is certainly worth doing. I've called in damaged connectors and they usually send out a tech to replace them within a few days.
     
    • Informative x 1
  5. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    What is the ideal amperage that a SpC should charge at with nobody in a shared stall?
     
  6. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Ideal amperage depends on state of charge, and battery temp, and type of battery (larger batteries charge faster). Fastest portion is very low SoC and warm (not hot/frozen) battery. I've seen 300+ amps on a nearly empty battery. Amperage will reduce as SoC increases.
     
  7. BigAirHarper

    BigAirHarper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    Yea the dozen or so times I have done it, from the 10-20% SOC of the pack it normally jumps to 290-300+ amps. The first chargers I tried this time, jumped to that. Stayed for a few seconds. Then quickly dropped back to 150's. The third charger was the charm as it ramped to the 290's and stayed until normal SOC taper began as I had seen in the past.
     
  8. WannabeOwner

    WannabeOwner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Someone told me a rule-of-thumb which I have found useful:

    • Change the Charge Screen units to Percent.
    • Add the AMPS and PERCENT and if they are 120-130 that's good. A higher number is even better.
    Do Tesla not get an automatic alert if a stall is pumping slow? Both the car and the stall must be logging that data so should be able to notify Tesla without Owners having to do anything ... would also be nice if the screen said "This stall appears to be duff, try another one". I'm a Geek, but my wife, sure as eggs are eggs, is not going to switch-display and add-two-numbers, she's just going to launch into orbit about how long she had to wait and how useless the system is o_O
     
    • Funny x 1
  9. Rocky_H

    Rocky_H Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    It's good to have the rule of thumb, but you mis-remembered it. It's not amps; it's kilowatts. Add the state of charge percent and the kilowatt number.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  10. WannabeOwner

    WannabeOwner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Bother! I would have known which one it was when looking at it ... I should have checked. Thanks for correcting that :)
     
  11. tnt1971

    tnt1971 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    United States
    I had this exact issue now at 3 different chargers. One was Syosset about 2 weeks ago and yesterday I had it at two different chargers in Connecticut (Milford and Darien). One I think was due to a pair issue (Milford) but the other two were empty. I call the number and they told me everything was fine with my car and told me to move to another stall. That fixed it, but what if the other stall was not available? They said they would send someone to look at the chargers.

    You mention the percent plus the kWs should be between 120 and 130. It does not display the kWs, does it? I know it is just Amps times Volts divided by 1000.
     
  12. hybridbear

    hybridbear Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If you change your units to show % instead of Rated Miles then the car will show kW rate when you are charging. This is what I used during my trip. We encountered 3 bad Supercharger stalls along the way. I called and reported them to Tesla. The guy on the phone said that they were aware of issues with all 3 Superchargers. I sure wish that they would share that information so that I wouldn't have wasted time at stalls that were not working correctly.
     
  13. Rocky_H

    Rocky_H Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Controls, Settings, Units & Format, Change to "Energy" instead of "Distance".
     
  14. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Yes, your problem now is someone else's solution later.
     
  15. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,563
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
  16. whitecotton

    whitecotton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    When i call and report issues, they can usually help you find a stall will the max amperage possible. Seems like they know about the issue when I report in, maybe Tesla owners in Texas just stay on top of them ;)
     
    • Helpful x 1

Share This Page