Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

CPO issue- 2016 Model S90D

Should Tesla do something to make this right?

• Total voters
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Dear Tesla,

I was a die-hard Tesla fan and supporter until my most recent experience. As a business owner myself, employing over 100 people here in South Florida, and impacting over 10,000 South Florida consumers annually, I feel it is essential to apprise you of what occurred so perhaps you can improve your business practices after seeing this.

I owned a 2016 model S70 until July of 2019 when the car was totaled by my wife in a terrible accident. Fortunately, the vehicle did what it was supposed to do, airbags deployed and it resulted in her being alive and well today.

Immediately after we received our insurance check, we went car shopping for a replacement vehicle. Naturally, we first went to Tesla in order to find a vehicle suitable for our needs. This is when things started to go wrong.

We ended up purchasing a used (CPO) Tesla 2016 Model S90D via Teslas website. The car was advertised as “This vehicle has completed a full 70 point mechanical and cosmetic inspection”. Based on that representation, as well as the photos provided via Tesla, I hit the “purchase” button, remitted my deposit of $2,500, and waited on confirmation for when the car was ready for pickup.

The vehicle was advertised with all the features which were included, which upon many, was free super charging for life. Upon receipt of the first call from Tesla, they informed us that albeit the advertisement said that supercharging was included; Tesla now no longer included it with pre-owned vehicles, the program had recently changed and perhaps the website ad wasn’t updated in time. Not a happy start for us, and apparently, this was just the precursor to what would come next.