TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Cruise control defaults to 70mph

Discussion in 'Model X: Driving Dynamics' started by Merrill, Aug 13, 2016.

  1. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,096
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Wondering how I change the cruise control default speed, for some reason when I first turn on the system it defaults to 70 mph even if I have not gone over 65 on the last drive.
     
  2. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,965
    Location:
    Delaware
    I'd think the easiest thing to do would be to pull the lever towards you and hold for a second, which should snap TACC to what the car thinks the current speed limit is (plus any offset set in the car's configuration page.)
     
  3. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,096
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Thanks, I will try that.
     
  4. phatteus

    phatteus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Do you have the speed alert set? With mine at +14mph I always get cruise control default of speed limit +14.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    Similarly I do +5 and see that. I wonder if you do absolute instead of relative it would do the same thing. i.e. if he has his set to absolute 70 mph.
     
  6. vandacca

    vandacca Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Location:
    Hamilton
    I think they need to split out "speed alert" and "cruise speed". Right now, if I set speed alert to +10mph, it uses that to also set my TACC. Very annoying.
     
    • Like x 2
  7. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,096
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Yes, it is set at +5, so that must be the problem.
     
  8. Hookemhorns

    Hookemhorns Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Georgia
    Absolutely. I am always having to reduce the speed with some lever bumps after it automatically sets it to the speed limit plus my offset. The offset is for warning me, NOT how fast I want to drive normally. Really frustrating.
     

Share This Page