TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Cruise-Control Lever changed?

Discussion in 'Model S: Ordering, Production, Delivery' started by poitch, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. poitch

    poitch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Took delivery last week (12/20) of my 70D with Auto-Pilot and I noticed I don't have the push button at the end of the auto-pilot lever.

    When I took delivery, the orientation specialist took me on a test drive around the factory to show me auto-pilot. At one point she told me to push the button to cancel auto-pilot and was confused as I couldn't feel anything. Eventually found a video online today that clearly shows the button which I don't have.

    Is it a change in production (since there is no need to turn on cruise control anymore)? Or did they mount the wrong lever on my car?
     
  2. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2 robby, Dec 27, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2015
    edit: The following info is speculative, see this thread for more info: 85D TACC cruise stalk missing button - Page 2

    It's a hardware change. Initial software had you push the button to activate/deactivate TACC. When TACC became integrated with auto-steering, they switched to using the lever for actuation, eliminating the need for the button. New cars don't get the button, and old cars have it disabled.
     
  3. poitch

    poitch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Thanks. Looks like the delivery staff isn't quite aware of the change yet.
     
  4. daled

    daled Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago

    I have the button on the end of the stick of my 85D. The only thing I've found it to do is to cancel Autopilot.
     
  5. Petra

    Petra Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA USA
    Must be a pretty recent change... I picked up my 70D just before Thanksgiving and mine has the button. In mine, the button can be used to shut off TACC/Autopilot--it's kinda nice to have a dedicated off button.
     
  6. poitch

    poitch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Must be recent which would explain why the delivery staff still mentioned the button to me.
     
  7. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    Thanks for mentioning this. I just went back to re-read, and the thread (see below) where I got my info is speculative. Not sure whether Tesla has officially confirmed this. OP - you are definitely not the first to see this, but it is probably worth following up with Tesla just to be sure... if you do please let us know what they say.

    85D TACC cruise stalk missing button - Page 2
     
  8. f-stop

    f-stop Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Vancouver BC, Canada
    My 70D has the button, I took delivery on Dec 2nd
     
  9. poitch

    poitch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    According to my DES, this is indeed a recent hardware change on cars with AP.

    Mystery remains on why it's not on all AP cars though.
     
  10. CHGolferJim

    CHGolferJim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Mine has the button on both stalks, but the DS told me at 12/4 delivery to use a double-pull of the TACC lever to activate AP. I'll try to remember to check if the button does anything.
     
  11. poitch

    poitch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    From what I've seen on YouTube, it should cancel auto steer/TACC.

    From other threads it looks like it starts TACC either with last speed, current speed, 7.0 might have changed the behavior.
     
  12. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    If you have confirmation from Tesla, I would chalk the rest up to supply chain variability. They may have overlapping shipments of old/new parts arriving, or it might be determined by a dependent part, e.g. a slightly different wiring harness which is in short supply. Seems like supply chain is a huge headache. Elon once told a story of line assembly completely stopping while engineers drove to Fry's to buy all the USB cables they could find because a shipment from overseas got held up in customs because of a problem with some other company's shipment that was in the same container as Tesla's.
     
  13. ottopilot

    ottopilot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    portland, or
    I pick up tomorrow. I will check and ask as well.
     
  14. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Yes, it cancels autosteer and TACC, pressing it when cruise control is disengaged it does nothing at all.

    Basically it behaves exactly the same as pushing the cruise stalk away from you. I can see why they don't bother with it anymore.
     
  15. pdq

    pdq Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I've had my P90D for 3 months, so have had occasionally stopped at the service center to ask a few questions and I find that the staff either don't know the answer, or I eventually find they gave me the wrong answer about 15 - 20% of the time. Most recent example was when I asked about setting up Homelink and a nice young guy said he'd do it for me and we walked out into their parking lot and after about 15 minutes he gave up, I thanked him and said I'd try it again at home. Turns out it only worked when I was pointed nose first towards and close to the garage door and the Tesla could "communicate" with my garage door opener. That wasn't going to happen from 6 miles away.
     
    • Like x 1
  16. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,866
    Location:
    NoVa
    You wouldn't want to setup homelink next to Tesla anyways, as it's GPS based and will pop up a green icon when you're approaching your garage (yeah, yeah, you can just hit the homelink icon and click the name, but that's an extra click ;))
     
  17. GasKilla

    GasKilla No Gas Know Peace

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17 GasKilla, Dec 28, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2015
    I took delivery of my 70D with auto-pilot on 12/26 (ordered on 10/31/15) and my stalk has the button. If you check the software release notes they indicate that you should have the button and it cancels auto-pilot and TACC when pressed. I'd say your lever certainly isn't a lever indicated in the manual. Usually Tesla adds features but doesn't take them away, so this is strange IMHO. Anyway I'd point out that the release notes and manual show this button so you expected it with your car. I think it should be fixed, but if they claim this is one of the many unannounced "upgrades" please let the forums know how exactly *Tesla says* this is an upgrade.

    *edit*
     
  18. ottopilot

    ottopilot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    portland, or
    picked up this afternoon. no button. i asked about it and was told they stopped putting them on because it overcomplicates and is unnecessary. she is beautiful, i couldn't care less either way.
     
  19. MrBacardi

    MrBacardi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Norway
    Could you take a photo?
     
  20. GlmnAlyAirCar

    GlmnAlyAirCar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Gilbertsville, PA
    I recall reading about this around the same time as the 7.0 update, so it must have been in the release notes or owner's manual.
     

Share This Page