TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

cryptic message

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Lunare, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. Lunare

    Lunare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    After a very short excursion, 2015 S D gives me 'driver assistance features not working, contact Tesla service'. Car appears to be working. Only change is some snow on ground since I last drove. Anybody else had this message or know what it means? Thanks
     
  2. tezco

    tezco Sig P85

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Colorado
    Perhaps snow has covered the radar in the front bumper? Or maybe it can't see the lane lines?
     
  3. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    On rare occasion a random error message will pop up, and then go away again. If you don't see an ongoing problem, then I would ignore it. If you see the error repeating, or are having trouble with the car systems, then I would report it.
     
  4. Ladoe00

    Ladoe00 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I have been experimenting the same issue for the past 2 months. I took it to the Montreal SC and they have calibrated both the camera and the fron radar, but I'm still getting that message. Every time it happened, there was no sign of obstruction or there was no reason why it wouldn't work. I have read on other threads that it seems to be related to a faulty camera. Others have reported that replacing the camera fixed the issue. I'm waiting for a callback from Montreal regarding this.
     
  5. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Intermittent problems can be really hard to track down. If replacing the camera worked for others, it is certainly worth a try.
     
  6. dasRad

    dasRad Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    I'll throw this on the fire and see what blows up.
    20151115_264913.jpg

    (I do have an explanation)
     
  7. hingisfan

    hingisfan hingisfan_Mark_V

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    ABS sensor?
     
  8. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    My guess would be something in the ABS circuit, likely a wheel speed sensor. The last message is probably the key. What is your explanation??
     
  9. dasRad

    dasRad Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    The warnings are the result of one of the wheel wells becoming packed with snow and restricting rotation of that wheel. The computer sees this restriction in the wheel rotation and decides that as it can not control the wheel in a normal fashion it will shutdown the automatic systems and leave control to the driver. What's really disconcerting is warnings that the computer displays for the driver indicating that the vehicle needs service when it really needs the wheel well unpacked (the packing cleared on its own in a few seconds, but the warnings remained).

    This occurred on a road where it was not safe to stop due to traffic on an extremely slick downhill and with no room to pull over (snow banks). Until I could pull over about 3 or 4 km down the road, the speedometer was locked at 6 km/hr even though the vehicle was travelling 20 to 30 km/hr. When I did stop and get out, the car turned off (as normal) and when I "started" again, the systems were re-enabled.
     
  10. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Wow, that's an interesting one! Do you have an AWD or RWD car? And which wheel was it? Was it merely a restriction like having the brakes on, or was the tire actually not turning at speed of travel? The way the speedo locked sounds really odd... I would have expected the speedo feed would come from the driveline and not a wheel sensor (or so I'm inferring from what you saw), but I don't know.

    Was it that nasty up at Big White? ;-)
     
  11. hingisfan

    hingisfan hingisfan_Mark_V

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    Im guessing it would have to be AWD to get these messages all together.
     
  12. dasRad

    dasRad Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    I guess I should add a signature....

    Our vehicle is a 2013 S85, so, RWD with no AP hardware. The restricted wheel was probably the left front; it occurred when leaving the parking lot and was momentary. The frozen speedometer is a bit surprising, but I'm guessing that it was a software glitch.

    Not Big White, and not particularly nasty, just winter in the hills. Nasty is the Trans Canada east of Sicamous when semis are barrelling along at 100+ kph in a snow storm and covering on coming traffic in sheets of slush.
     
  13. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Ah, I can visualize the problem better now... that chunk of ice that forms like a big frozen mud flap probably broke loose when you turned the wheel a bit... it rode up and around and lodged solid enough to lock the tire on a slippery spot of road... until road friction returned and crunched it apart. I have no idea why the speedo froze - like you say, the condition may have triggered a software bug. Weird though.

    And yeah, I'll take a snowy back road over the TCH and Coq pretty much any time!
     
  14. Ingineer

    Ingineer Electrical Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,399
    At least on RWD cars, (maybe all) the speedometer is apparently derived from the front wheels. If you jack up the rear end or put it on a dyno, the speed will stay at zero when the rear wheels spin. This will also trigger the errors shown by dasRad.
     
  15. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    That makes sense, since RWD rally cars always had a mechanical odometer drive from the front... wheel spin would make a rear or transmission odometer/speedo drive pretty much useless. I can't say I've ever heard of a RWD production car getting speed or distance information from a front wheel though. Likely another first from Tesla. I should have learned by now not to assume anything about the car would actually be conventional! :biggrin:
     

Share This Page