TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Ctrl + Alt + F1 = Blank screen

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by lowrider, May 10, 2013.

  1. lowrider

    lowrider Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    I'm wondering if the more technologically inclined users here can help me out with this. Pressing Ctrl + Alt + F1 brings up a blank screen on the touchscreen (a separate tty). Is there anyway to execute commands from this window or do something cool? A thread on a similar subject exists over on the official Tesla forums:http://www.teslamotors.com/fr_CA/forum/forums/rootingFrankly, it seems there is a more tech savvy user base here and that is why I am reposting this discussion to these forums.
     
  2. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
  3. lowrider

    lowrider Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    Thank you. Didn't realize the text had gotten so garbled.I've done a bit more research on the topic and it seems that it is pulling up a separate console, but wihtout an x-window. Just to see if it is a console window without visual output, I typed reboot (via USB keyboard) and waited but nothing happened. Any ideas?
     
  4. hikerockies

    hikerockies Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Colorado
    Unless you get a login prompt, no one is listening for any keyboard input. You are seeing blank screen, so obviously no login prompt. More technical details - when Linux kernel boots up on the touchscreen, it launches init which starts userspace processes. There is a configuration file that tells init which userspace processes it should start. To enable login on tty1, init config file needs to tell it to start getty on tty1 which it obviously doesn't. I don't think there will be an easy way to modify init configuration.
     
  5. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    One way in might be to find the hard drive or SD card or whatever the file system is on and modify the init script. Not that that will be easy. Once someone has thoroughly explored the file system, other ways to root may be discovered. But I think the first person to root the touchscreen is going to have to take apart a car.
     
  6. lowrider

    lowrider Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    Good explanation. Indeed, it seems this is probably not the way to root the OS. Other methods should have better success though. Just think of how much effort Apple has put into locking down iOS and yet the jailbreakers continuously find a way in. I doubt TM has put in anywhere near the protections that Apple has.
     
  7. wycolo

    wycolo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,427
    Location:
    WY
    > Ctrl + Alt + F1 = Blank screen [lowrider]

    Is this blank screen now dead for all practical purposes? Esp dead to touch activation after car is OFF and LOCKED? That would be neat.

    [Exits to test].
    --
     
  8. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,710
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Would be great if some creative hacker could take those software limited 40 kWh vehicles and give them access to the full 60 kWh battery.
     
  9. wycolo

    wycolo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,427
    Location:
    WY
    It does blank the screen and Ctrl+alt(option)+F2 restores screen. But finger touching @6pm still turns ON HVAC and @noon turns ON rear view camera output, etc, so screen is still open to various INPUTS.

    Seems only way to disable HVAC will be by pulling various fuses.
    --
     
  10. lowrider

    lowrider Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    hopefully some direct communication APIs will be exposed with fw 5.5 and WIFI. Not expecting full root access to come out of it, but at least some information regarding the internals could be gleaned.
     
  11. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Disagree. On many levels.
     
  12. widodh

    widodh Model S R231 EU

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,822
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    It's just waiting until somebody does so.

    When I get my car one of the first things I'll do is hook it up to my WiFi and start sniffing all the traffic it does. Do a couple of port scans and fingerprint checks to find out what it does.

    But what already has been mentioned is that the "easiest" way to gain access is to:
    - See if it boots from USB
    - Get out the harddrive, copy it and change the filesystem so you gain root access
     
  13. dtich

    dtich #P708

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13 dtich, Jul 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2013
    ..and then have something go weirdly wrong at just the wrong time and destroy your car and/or hurt somebody. and when anyone wants to sue over anything, tm lawyers will simply point to the following paragraph and shrug sympathetically:

    just sayin. ****ing (pmf) with root on your smartphone or trs-80 is one thing, on 4700 pounds of metal going 60 mph.... quite another. not to cast any particular aspersions.. but. i wouldn't advertise your intents. personally.

    (not to mention, i assume that every module of fw is encrypted, signed and checksummed and will likely not function if even a space character is changed. that's the security i'm paying for anyway, afaic. i didn't just randomly buy a car from people who make spaceships.)
     
  14. mpbruin108

    mpbruin108 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Los Angeles, ca
    If you paid for 40kwh, you should keep 40kwh. I agree with you.
     
  15. lowrider

    lowrider Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    probably not that easy. There very likely are boot rom level checks that occurs to verify the file system integrity. In order to root, those checks would need to be disabled. Simply swapping in a modified HDD would probably result in the system throwing an error at startup.

    @dtich - the kind of rooting that I'm talking about is regarding the Nav/Entertainment console, NOT the drivetrain components. Tesla has confirmed that drivetrain systems are firewalled and operate independently of the touch screen. Hence, I see very little harm in trying.
     
  16. dtich

    dtich #P708

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #16 dtich, Jul 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2013
    yeah, i get you, and i definitely am not pointing fingers specifically at you or anyone.. but just to play devil's advocate for a second, taking your scenario, what if, somehow, some crazy way, a little hacking into the entertainment subsystem resulted in a one-time glitch where a driver went to adjust his/her volume at highway speeds and the sound system splatted some huge static bomb, and the main screen flashed white. just for a second. who knows why. and in response the freaked out driver jerked the wheel. into the other lane... i know i'm being annoyingly pedantic about it. but really. stranger things have happened.

    i think the convergence of computers and vehicles will make more and more of this instinct to tinker under the hood inviting.. understandably. but, just as commercial aircraft don't have user-tinkerable subsystems, and healthcare equipment doesn't (or shouldn't, that homeland episode notwithstanding..).. so we should start to think about these computercars. they are more cars than computer. they are vehicles we entrust with our lives, and fundamentally dangerous. whereas a pc on a desktop, connected to printers and displays.. is really only physically dangerous in movies. for now.

    just reference that story about hacking the prius. it's all getting closer and closer to lawnmower man, eagle eye, daemon-type stuff. neuromancer. i wouldn't hasten the day. watch that lawnmower. man. :)
     
  17. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,710
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    If it is doable, someone will eventually hack the code and enable access to the full 60 kWh battery. Whether or not you actually implement such a hack on your vehicle would be your choice to make. Limiting a 60 kWh batter to 40 kWh is an artificial software limitation. I'm not making a judgment on whether someone should or shouldn't do this with their vehicle, but for those of us who are geeks at heart, the possibility of removing artificial software limitations to enable the full feature set of the vehicle is an intriguing thought experiment. What you paid for, etc., is a different consideration. I'm just talking about the technology here.
     
  18. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Supposedly Tesla will enable WiFi at some point, but it's not enabled today.
     
  19. widodh

    widodh Model S R231 EU

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,822
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    I think the 40kWh limitation is actually in the firmware of the battery pack and not in the parts you can access through the Linux system.


    It's enabled in FW 5.5 which is shipped with European cars.
     
  20. hans

    hans P631

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    Menlo Park
    What makes you think that? What even makes you think that the battery pack has firmware? Just curious.
     

Share This Page