TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Dash Cam in Refreshed MS

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Trikkitt, Jul 2, 2016.

  1. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Has anyone installed a dash cam in to the facelift model S?

    Looking at all the instructions I've hit a few issues, they all relate to the pre-facelift cars. The plastics around the rearview mirror are different. It feels quite fragile and I don't want to snap it. The fuse boxes have moved around, so now there is one by the driver kick panel to the right of the accelerator (RHD car). Plus there is no info on what fuse does what, so impossible to pick one sensibly. I don't know what else has changed between versions....

    Incidentally there is no spare power to the microphone / internal alarm sensors as there is in earlier versions of the MS. So I need to run the power back to somewhere... ideally I want two outputs, one always on and one enabled when the car is in drive mode so the camera will auto-switch in to parked mode.

    Thanks for any thoughts / assistance.
     
  2. cmorgan

    cmorgan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The blackvue dr650 has parking mode detection that seems to work pretty well in detecting being parked or moving. I guess it is supposed to avoid writing to the card when parked and no motion is detected but I can't say I've tested it.

    I didn't go under the plastics myself. I used zip ties from the windshield side into the microphone area for fishing, they are thin and plastic, and just ran the wires next to the housing for the ap camera and then between the windshield and headliner where I found a path with the zip tie.

    I've got a face lifted ms as well, with ap, and there was a three pin connector under the microphone where I tied in for power. Cut up the original blackvue cable, soldered a three pin header .1" pitch, shrink tubing etc and plugged that into the connector. Make sure to get the pinout correct.
     
  3. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks - I didn't get the Blackvue - I got the Thinkware 750.

    I'll take another look under the microphone.....
     
  4. xborg

    xborg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    London
    Could you post photos please?
     
  5. AZ Desert Driver

    AZ Desert Driver Genesis - The Beginning - MS60D in its nest

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    you guys scare me. I'm a bit of a DIY guy, but cutting wires and snapping plastic on my new car...I want to hire a pro, or at least an experienced and careful guy (well, I guess that is the def of a pro). Now, how do I find this guy?
     
  6. Chris P

    Chris P Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Illinois
    I have a refreshed RWD and had a dash cam professionally installed. They used fuse 120 which I verified with my service center as being unused by my car and good to use for the dash cam. My camera switches to park mode automatically.
     
  7. cmorgan

    cmorgan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    image.jpeg

    Here is one I snapped a second ago showing the cables through the headliner. I could have moved them closer to the ap/mirror but it felt like there was something in the way. I can't see it from inside drivers seat so I left it.
     
  8. cmorgan

    cmorgan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Overall the tough parts were the windshield to mic and then the cable rework with correct pinout.

    Running through the headliner with the pano roof was really simple. I ran around, lost he extra for the rear camera by going back and forth in the center pano area from the back seat. I also didn't try to fish to the back of the headliner by the trunk. I came out from the headliner pano pocket, the big open gap there, and across the inside of the headliner to get to the trunk. Then tucked it in to the trunk plastic gap in the upper corner and to the rear camera. Cable is black so you can't see it against the black headliner.

    I did try to run down the inside back corner headliner part, the part between the top and the rear seat, but I couldn't remove that piece. I need to ask the sc to take a look at that part because my prying pulled it out a half inch. It isn't noticeable but I did something there. At that point I gave up and ran inside as I mentioned above, not worth the damage.

    Overall probably took five hours with the cabling, fishing, positioning the cameras. Really didn't want to miswire the power plug and didn't want to just stick wires in there so I went the three pin header approach both for retention and good electrical contact.

    I can post more pictures when I get home if there is interest.
     
  9. Tech_Guy

    Tech_Guy Always in Ludicrous mode

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I installed mine on my refresh last week only issue I ran into was running the wire to the center of the rear hatch, I got it through the boot but it took me a few hours to get it out of the hatch, once I got it only took a few minutes to run the last bit to the center...

    All the removal instructions for the front mirror where correct and there was an extra connector in the mic area it was taped with the blue tape to the grill in the very center as shown in this picture that I took Mic Gril.jpg .
     
  10. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    How do I know which is fuse 120? I can't see any numbers on the fuse locations, at least not easily. I've got the cable to the fuse box in the corner right hand side of the driver (rhd)
     
  11. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Very strange - it would appear in my car it has a purpose as that connector is present but plugged in to something! No idea what it is though....
     
  12. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Any idea which fuse does what. I'm getting a couple of fuse taps. I'd like to put them in to things that I won't be upset if they ever fail rather than something that would cause a lot of grief. Ideally something low powered... ideally I need one that is always one and one that goes on and off with the car being on or off.

    Alternatively there is this connector - I've no idea what it does, but it isn't connected so maybe it'll work for my needs. Anyone know?
     
  13. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,589
    Location:
    Oregon
  14. Trikkitt

    Trikkitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    That would make sense. There are two little ultrasonic sensors there, which I would expect to be alarm related. I didn't realise the US version didn't have the those!
     
  15. Chris P

    Chris P Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Illinois
    I believe this is the post that shows the new fuse box and identifies the fuse numbers:
    Facelifted Model S: accessing fusebox and finding constant-on fuse?
     

Share This Page