Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

DC Quick Charge vs Supercharge

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a newbie here, and I've been researching EVs on the web. I see Level 1, Level 2, and DC Quick Charge. Level 1 and 2 are pretty self-explanatory, but I was curious on DC Quick Charge and Tesla's Supercharger - they sound like like very similar ideas.

My question is, is it possible to use a DC Quick Charge station with a Tesla S? Or are they so different it's not possible?

Thanks,

Doug

I'm a newbie here, and I've been researching EVs on the web. I see Level 1, Level 2, and DC Quick Charge. Level 1 and 2 are pretty self-explanatory, but I was curious on DC Quick Charge and Tesla's Supercharger - they sound like like very similar ideas.

My question is, is it possible to use a DC Quick Charge station with a Tesla S? Or are they so different it's not possible?

Thanks,

Doug

Tesla has indicated that they will be able to provide an adapter to charge from any format including DC Quick Charge station, Mennekes, Chademo etc.

The level 2 stuff (e.g., 240V@~16 - 70A) tends to use a standard signalling method between the charging station and the charger in the car. So, for instance, the J1772 adapter that Tesla provides for Model S (or Roadster) to connect to public J1772 charging stations is just a physical pin to pin mechanical adapter so that the two can plug together.