Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Delivery tomorrow - Test Drive?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey guys,

My long 3 week wait(I am being sarcastic) to pick up my CPO is coming to an end tomorrow. Is it common to test drive the car before signing off on the final papers? Typically with a new car, I've never done that and this is the first time I have bought a CPO car sight unseen like this before. I never got pictures either. I am going in blind tomorrow.

Anything else I should be on the lookout for? I followed guidance from here, but it seems a little outdated: Tesla Model S Buyers', Delivery and Owners' Guide

Bring a friend. Be very thorough. Check all surfaces and features. Bring a flashlight to help look. I would ask for a test drive before signing but they might balk. I have no experience with it but there are many horror stories and many happy customers. I don't get the feeling that there is an in-between. Good luck!

...test drive...

Before your final payment, you can test drive another car that is specifically set up for that purpose.

If you want to test drive the car that you ordered, you have to pay the whole bill first and sign off all the contracts first.

It's just like a See's candy store, you can taste all you want from the counter that is specifically set up for that purpose but you just can't tear up a wrapping from a candy box on the shelf without paying it first.

What would a test drive change?

If you find a fault then they will fix it and give you a loaner while it's being repaired.

Look out for the cosmetic items and areas that may not be covered by the CPO warranty after you sign and walk away like scrapes/tears/etc.

What would a test drive change?

If you find a fault then they will fix it and give you a loaner while it's being repaired.