Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Dent and scratch in back bumper and panel while backing

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting here. Unfortuntely, I just backed into a pillar in a tight underground parking yesterday, and scratched my back left bumper and dented my back left panel. The charging port opens fine and the car charges fine. The trunk opens and the back light works fine as well. However, I have a few questions:

1) Based on your understanding of the car, if I'm fine with the aesthetics of the dents and scratches, does it looks like it must be fixed? Or there will be some safety or long term issues if I don't fix it? For example, is it safe to go to gas station touchless car washes? Will there be any damage to the electrical components long term? Because if safety is fine and there are no long-term issues, I don't want to spend a lot of money to fix it after just one accident, in case I damage the same bumper and/or the panel sometime later again.
2) If the car only requires body work, do I have to fix it with Tesla approved body shops? I'm afraid they are very pricey.
3) If I go with non-Tesla approved body shops, does it void my car's warranty?
4) Can someone recommend some good body shops around North York area?

Thank you everyone!

Derek

Attachments

• PXL_20220803_004339516.jpg
    PXL_20220803_004339516.jpg
    322.6 KB · Views: 1,177
  • PXL_20220803_004139045.jpg
    PXL_20220803_004139045.jpg
    434 KB · Views: 364
I think that for some minor amount of money a body shop can push out most of that and clip the bumper back in.
If it was myself I'd remove the lining inside the car and try and tap it back myself. Won't be perfect but it would not be as pronounced and a bit of rubbing compound can work wonders.