Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Desination Charger Etiquette

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm planning a few weekend trips away when my M3 arrives next week, can anyone advise on the etiquette for using destination chargers at hotels and other locations?

Many of the hotel charges are free to use for customers so I'm expecting them to be busy, especially in popular locations.

Is it OK to leave the car plugged in overnight if there are other Tesla users parked nearby or is there an unwritten rule to only charge for short periods?

As a new EV driver I don't want to upset my fellow Tesla owners :)

I'm planning a few weekend trips away when my M3 arrives next week, can anyone advise on the etiquette for using destination chargers at hotels and other locations?

Many of the hotel charges are free to use for customers so I'm expecting them to be busy, especially in popular locations.

Is it OK to leave the car plugged in overnight if there are other Tesla users parked nearby or is there an unwritten rule to only charge for short periods?

As a new EV driver I don't want to upset my fellow Tesla owners :)
Only unwritten rule is to unplug once car is fully charged.

I've only used destination chargers at hotels, and every time I've plugged in I've made sure to tell reception and ask them to call me if someone else wants to charge. One hotel we stayed in had valet parking, that included charging the car, so they looked after the way the destination charging was managed. One we stayed in last Christmas (Burgh Island) had their parking garages and charge points on the mainland, so again the hotel staff dealt with charge point sharing (they arranged for both Teslas to park side by side, so they could move the fixed Tesla lead between the two cars). Never been a problem anywhere we've been, as it seems that hotels, at least, usually have a system that works fairly.